Have you ever tried Cashew Fruit or Cashew Apple?

in #food7 years ago

Cashew3.jpg

Cashew fruit (or cashew apple) is normally a tropical fruit. Most people may know it as “cashew nut” and I think not many people have ever seen cashew fruit or cashew tree. Today, I’m glad to show them to you.

The shape of the fruit looks like pear. It has green color when it is small and then turns to red-orange when ripen.

Cashew.jpg
(When they are small, they are green and you will see the seeds are bigger than the fruits!)

Cashew4.jpg
(When it ripen, the color is changed to red-orange and the fruit is bigger than the seed!)

The taste is sweet and juicy. We can eat cashew fruit (or cashew apple) directly or we can put them in the curry or the cashew nut can be made as snack or dessert per my old post 2 months ago, https://steemit.com/food/@tangmo/sugar-coated-cashew-nuts-delicious-thai-dessert.

cashew nut.jpg
(cashew nut on its leaf as dessert or snack)

In my old days, I like to see plenty of cashew fruits (or cashew apples) on the tree. The red-orange fruits are outstanding from the far distance. It’s beautiful in my eyes!

Cashew1.jpg

Cashew2.jpg
(cashew fruits (cashew apples) on the tree)

It is one of my favorite fruits and I like it as a dessert, too!

p.s. These pictures are from my sister who now lives in my hometown, Phatthalung, in the South of Thailand.

Sort:  

Really interesting photographs @tangmo, thanks for sharing :) I've never seen nor tasted a cashew fruit. I can now check off one of those things :) How about you send me one? Heh

You're welcome! Thank you very much for your comment and visiting my blog! I'm glad you like the photos and want to try the fruit.... One may not be enough! Come and visit Thailand right now, you will get plenty of them! Ha ha! Thanks for making me smile! I followed you now! ;)

Interesting I think should try it. I need to only find out the real one cashew fruit. I know cashew nuts and I like them so probably the fruit is delicious :)Greetings and thank you. Upvote and resteem ;)

First of all, thank you very much for upvoted and resteemed my post! I highly appreciate it! ;)

I'm glad you are interested to try the fruit... Yes, cashew nuts have really great taste and the fruit is also delicious. (but, it's up to personal favor!) ;)

I have not seen that before. Not even in the stores. I bet I would like it!

Thanks so much for your comment and stopping by! I'm glad you like it! This is a tropical fruit and I think it's very fragile to be exported to other areas. You may try it if you visit Thailand! ;)

I never try this this fruit. But I will! Thank you @tangmo

You're welcome! Thanks so much for your daily visit to my post! I appreciate for your nice interest in this fruit...you may try it some day! ;)

Welcome :-)

;))

Wonderful fruit and nut and the photos are great.
I once stayed at some bungalows in a cashew grove on Koh Chang near Ranong in the Andaman sea. The fruit smells strong and sweet when it falls off the tree.

Thanks so much for your comment and stopping by! I'm glad to hear that you have experienced the fruits by yourself here in Thailand! That's really great! ;)

Yes, that was a great experience!

;D

Is it Syzygium samarangense I tried in Bali ?

I'm not sure whether it is the same or not; I don't know about "Syzygium samarangense" as you mentioned! Thanks so much for your comment and visiting my blog! I followed you now! ;)

Thank you, I followed you too and reading so many good posts!

You're welcome! And thanks so much for following me! I'm happy to know that you like my posts! ;)

We had two trees in the garden in our previous house! Not a huge fan of the fruit though! A bit to sweet and tastes and small like chewing gum hehe

Thanks a lot for stopping by and sharing your experience with me! Yes, I agree with you about the taste....! ;)

My pleasure!

Wonderful fruit and nuts and the photos are great i never try this fruit.But i will thanks for sharing

You're welcome! Thanks so much for your interest in the fruit! I'm glad you like the photos! ;)

Interesting post. Cashew is very common in the place where I live

Thanks so much for your comment! I'm glad you like my post and happy to know that cashew is also in your place where you live! ;)

Welcome

I eat cashew nuts though we not use the fruits much

Yes, most people know cashew nut, but seldom people use to eat the fruits! ;)

True

Interesting post!
I never knew about the cashew fruits, thanks for sharing this information. I would really want to try a cashew fruit one day, and when I one day taste it I will remember about your post @tangmo.
Thanks for making me wiser.

You're welcome! Thank you very much for your comment and visiting my blog! I'm happy you like my post and you would like to try the fruit... I much appreciate to know that you will remember my post on the fruit! I followed you now! ;)

Thank you for such kind words :)
I'll follow you for more amazing content! Keep the good work up!

You're welcome! Thanks so much for following me! I appreciate for your nice compliment! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39