TacoCat's TrEats #4: Singaporean Fried Chicken 🍗

in #food6 years ago

Hey Steemit!

I think the one thing I really miss about Singapore (other than all our local hawker food) is fried chicken! We never expected there to be no KFC here in Finland, which is really strange. In Singapore we have so many KFC outlets that we just assumed a big country like Finland would have at least a few.

Personally, chicken is my favourite type of meat and I like crispy stuff so I've really been craving fried chicken for a while (despite the fact that I don't eat it that often back home). Singapore has so many different types of fried chicken, and so many different restaurant chains that we kind of take it for granted. Maybe I'll post about all those different restaurant chains another time, but today I want to talk about the "lesser known" fried chicken sources we have in Singapore.

1 ) Har Cheong Gai 虾酱鸡

Literally, "shrimp paste chicken", har cheong gai is probably one of the most popular fried chicken dishes in Singapore. It is made with fermented shrimp paste and a whole host of other spices and ingredients which include chinese wine, white pepper, garlic, ginger, etc.

Har cheong gai can typically be found in normal hawker centres from the Tzi Char stalls, with prices that can range from $8-$12 (for 6-8 wings). It's one of my favourite dishes to order when eating tzi char but since it's quite pricey (and unhealthy), I only eat it when I'm craving it.

2 ) Old Chang Kee

Old Chang Kee is renowned for their curry puffs (Curry' O), which is arguably #1 in Singapore, with a long history from 1956. However, Old Chang Kee also sells a myriad of other fried stuff like fishballs, gyoza, spring rolls and more.
ock.jpg

Normally, I'd only buy their curry puffs but the other day I just wanted a singular piece of chicken so I tried their fried chicken wing and it was surprisingly good and very crispy! Their secret batter is actually really tasty, and it could probably rival that of KFC, but with less flour. From what I remember the wing was fairly pricey, at around $1.80, but it was pretty big for 1 wing so it's still okay I guess.

3 ) Yon Yan 永焱

I haven't tried this one yet, but I've read many many posts online saying that it's good, and upon reading that even PM Lee queued for 30 min for their fried chicken, I'm quite curious as to how good it really is.

Their old stall was located at Redhill, which was where PM Lee was cited queuing for it. Since then, they've relocated to West Coast Market Square in Clementi West (S120726).

They also sell economic bee hoon (at $0.60!), but their previously priced $1.20 chicken wings has increased to $1.40 each. It's kinda steep, but still cheaper than the Old Chang Kee ones. Regardless, I read that people queue up to buy the chicken wings by the dozen! (Man, the money people will spend on food here) It must be pretty good, so I'm excited to go back and try it for myself. 😋

Hope I didn't clog your arteries with this post (hehe)!
Where do you typically go to get your fried chicken fix?

Thanks for reading!
endslate gif.gif

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!

Check out my previous post in this series!
TacoCat's TrEats #3: Singaporean food in Helsinki! 🍲
Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-11T14:55:00
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 14.00/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Looks delicious.

Yess i get hungry looking at it 😋

The first time I tried har cheong gai, I thought the chicken was off, and I almost throw it away. :-)

Haha why did u think the chicken was off?

It is the taste and smell of the har cheong. Taste like rotten meat like that. haha....

hahah what a strange way to describe it. I never heard anyone say that about har cheong gai before XD

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TacoCat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64447.43
ETH 3163.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56