TacoCat's TrEats #202: The Best Japanese Bread doesn't Loaf Around 🍞

in #food5 days ago

Source: Tokyo Restaurants Guide

Hey Steemit!

If you've seen my foodie posts before, most of them tend to be about local food in Singapore. But tbh with inflation nowadays we don't eat out that often when we're not traveling so I've run out of content regarding Singaporean food places. Since I also post a lot of travel stuff, I thought I'd sharing more about the food we've tried in the countries we've visited!

The country we visit the most by far is definitely Japan, and while I've shared quite a few different food places we've tried I think I've yet to share about our favourite Japanese bakery!

Japanese bakeries are truly something else; they bake everything in-house and have so many unique baked goods from scones, sandwiches and cakes to buns with different fillings and of course the famous one that everyone knows - melon pan!

There are quite a few famous Japanese bakeries, so much so that some of them have even arrived on the shores of Singapore, like Gokoku Japanese Bakery from Kobe.

image.png

Source: L Privileges

However, the bakery that I want to share is a lesser known one since it's actually tied to a convenience store chain! Everyone knows about the big convenience store chains like 7/11, Family Mart and Lawson in Japan. But I think not as many people know about Daily Yamazaki, which is a shame since some of their branches have a very good bakery called Daily Hot, where they bake bread and offer it fresh out of the oven.

Source: As Seen in Japan

I'm not sure when we first discovered Daily Hot but they have a special bread that has since become one of my favourite breads and we always make it a point to try and find it every time we visit! In one of our recent trips to Japan we actually discovered one of the biggest branches of Daily Yamazaki we've ever seen and they had a special section for their baked goods called Daily Bakery!

image.png

We were truly astounded by how large this section was since in the regular Daily Hot they only have a small case of baked goods. This one had multiple shelves and a breakfast station to make tea and coffee!

image.png

There were so many breads to choose from and the aroma of fresh bread still baking was intoxicating. We were spoilt for choice on what bread to try!

image.png

They had quite a selection of both sweet and savoury buns, including some special seasonal offerings as well.

image.png

But of course I have to go for my absolute favourite which is this Bacon and Egg Toast!

image.png

After we made our selection we headed to the cashier to pay. The back of the convenience store looked just like any other convenience store but it was quite spacious compared to other branches we've been in. I guess since this was a little ways outside of main Tokyo they had more space to build a bigger store.

image.png

This branch even had a nice sitting area for patrons to enjoy their breakfast from the Daily Bakery! We felt so lucky to have found this outlet.

image.png

This is what we bought; one Bacon and Egg Toast (211 JPY) each and one of their special seasonal donuts to try. Another good thing about the Daily Bakery is that if your bread is cold, you could request for them to heat it up for you! But I think when we arrived the bread was still warm from having been freshly baked that we didn't have to.

image.png

I prefer to have my sweets last so I tucked into my savoury Bacon and Egg Toast first! It smelled so good I couldn't wait!

image.png

Even after all these years, it was just as delicious as I remember! With a fluffy thick toast as the base, they spread a special mixture of mayonnaise, butter and other goodness and lay a sunny side egg on top with some strips of bacon at the corners. Pure perfection!

The next thing to try was the seasonal special donut (130 JPY)!

image.png

This was actually surprisingly good! Even though it's been sitting out for a while it was still somehow crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside with a nice coating of cinnamon sugar. It had the perfect texture and consistency of a donut since I like my donuts crisp on the outside. We didn't want to heat this one up since the sugar would melt but it was still so good!

image.png

It was definitely a good find and I'm so glad we found this Daily Bakery! If you're interested, this is located just a short walk from Toyosu station (not the one closest to it) which is quite special itself since it has tracks that are covered up and converted into a walkway!

image.png

Definitely make the trip there if you love bread and want to get affordable, delicious and most importantly fresh Japanese bread from Daily Bakery!

Thanks for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


[//]:# (!pinmapple 35.65312 lat 139.79747 long d3scr)

Check out my previous post in this series!

TacoCat's TrEats #202: Trying Michelin Famous Chicken Rice! 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50