TacoCat (kinda) Cooks! #31: Fluffy Pancakes as Breakfast for Dinner! 🥞

in #food2 years ago

image.png

Hey Steemit!

We're back with more of our home cooking! If you're unfamiliar with this series, it's where I showcase some of the recipes we've been trying at home since we've been cooking a lot nowadays! Also I'm running out of content so yeah gotta make the most of it!

So I'd been craving pancakes for quite some time especially after watching this ASMR video from ASMR Darling where she makes breakfast consisting of pancakes, bacon and eggs! I love her cooking videos and listening to the cooking ASMR sounds always makes me fall asleep, but sometimes makes me hungry too!

Anyway, I'd been watching this video of her making pancakes almost every night and I finally found the time to try making my own pancakes! But compared to her video of using a pancake mix, I decided to try out this pancake recipe I found that seemed pretty simple and only needed a few ingredients!

image.png

These were the ingredients I used. I did change it a little bit from the comments on the recipe and it came out perfect!

Ingredients (for 8 servings according to the recipe):

  • 1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 ½ teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 1 ¼ cups milk
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence

image.png

This yields quite a big batch of pancakes (depending on the size of your pan of course), but since it's quite hard to split an egg I just went with it to try it out since this was my first time making pancakes from scratch!

Step 1: Sift together the flour, baking powder and sugar.

image.png

Step 2: Melt the butter in the microwave for about 15-20 seconds.

image.png

Step 3: Make a well in the center of the flour mixture and pour in the milk, egg and butter.

image.png

Step 4: Then it's mixy mix time!

image.png

Mix until you get a smooth mixture. There might be some small lumps, try to get rid of them if you can but if you can't remove them all it's fine too.

image.png

Step 5: Time to cook! Put some butter in the pan (or in my case a wok) on medium-high heat then pour in a nice circle of batter.

image.png

It should heat up pretty quickly and form bubbles on the surface like this. Once it's pretty solid you're good to flip it! I don't think I waited long enough for this side.

image.png

The other side ended up looking like this which I thought was pretty alright.

image.png

I made another one that turned out a lot better and drizzled some maple syrup on it and it was delicious!

image.png

It was fluffy and light and a little crispy on the edges. The taste itself was perfect; classic pancake taste and better than any box mix I've tried! It was legitimately one of the best pancakes I've ever had!

And I'm so glad I made a big batch of it so I could make more! We actually ended up having breakfast for dinner because there was so much batter leftover.

So I made an omelette with 3 eggs:

image.png

And we cut up some luncheon meat

image.png

I made some air-fried frozen vegetables

image.png

And of course more pancakes, which turned out better and better the more practise I got!

image.png

It became easier to tell when to flip the pancake and they ended up looking better!

image.png

And this was our dinner!

image.png

We had 2 pancakes, an omelette and some slices of luncheon meat each while we shared the plate of roasted veggies!

It was absolutely delicious and I was really proud with how the pancakes turned out!

image.png

I also added some cheese on top of the cake but I think it would've been better if I had just made a cheese omelette instead. Oh well, we learn for next time!

image.png

Overall, it was still a very delicious meal and I'd say for my first time making breakfast for dinner it turned out perfect!

image.png

I'm so happy with how these pancakes turned out! They were so yummy and I'm going to be making more pancakes with this recipe in the future for sure! It's perfect for a nice weekend brunch; no need to buy hotcakes from McDonalds anymore when I can make them so much better!

If you're ever craving pancakes and have these ingredients lying around, try this simple recipe out!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

TacoCat (kinda) Cooks! #30: Pan Fried Salmon with Pasta Alfredo and Roasted Veggies! 😋

image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50