TacoCat (kinda) Cooks! #26: First time Making Omurice! 🍚

in #food2 years ago

image.png

Hey Steemit!

We're back with more of our home cooking! If you're unfamiliar with this series, it's where I showcase some of the food we've been making at home since we've been cooking a lot nowadays! Also I'm running out of content so yeah gotta make the most of it!

Every time I have to make dinner for just myself I'll make something easy since I don't want to spend too much time cooking. So I typically just cook rice in my rice cooker with frozen vegetables and air fry some frozen chicken. But I'll make extra rice so I can cook fried rice the next day for us, especially since Sean likes my fried rice. So I've been cooking it about once or twice weekly since it's quick, easy and yummy!

image.png

But after eating the same kinda fried rice so much the past couple of weeks I thought I'd try something different and try to make omelette fried rice, or omurice instead! I've never made omurice before but I love the dish a lot and used to eat it a lot in high school.

I actually tried looking up recipes for omurice on Youtube to see how to make it but most of them had the egg just laying on top of the fried rice or draping over it (like tornado omurice) which was interesting but not what I wanted. I was going for the type of omurice with the rice inside the omelette. So I just tried to wing it. But first thing was to cook the fried rice.

These were the ingredients I used:

  • canola/vegetable oil
  • light soy sauce
  • dark soy sauce
  • sesame oil
  • chili oil
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • MSG
  • 3 eggs
  • garlic
  • luncheon meat
  • leftover rice

image.png

Step 1: Mince the garlic. We like lots of garlic but use however much you want.

image.png

image.png

Since our rice didn't have any meat in it, we used some pork luncheon meat to add in when frying.

image.png

Step 2: Slice the luncheon meat into bite-sized pieces.

image.png

Step 3: Heat up a wok on high heat, add some cooking oil and sautee the garlic until lightly browned.

image.png

image.png

Step 4: Add the leftover rice and luncheon meat and stir fry it with the garlic.

image.png

Step 5: Add in light soy sauce, dark soy sauce, sesame oil and chili oil and stir fry until well combined and the rice turns a nice golden brown.

image.png

Normally I'd fry the egg by making a pit in the fried rice and covering the egg with the rice but since we're trying to make omurice, we'll set the rice aside for now.

image.png

Step 6: Beat the eggs into a bowl and add some salt then pour the eggs into the wok and let it cook for a bit.

image.png

Step 7: Scoop some rice onto half of the egg.
Now this is where I kinda screwed up. I think I shouldn't have put the rice in the middle of the egg but rather on half of the egg and use the other half to cover it up.

image.png

Step 8: Try to seal in the omelette without breaking it. We tried our best and I think it still worked although it did tear a little.

image.png

But ultimately I think it still turned out pretty alright! It didn't look the best since we couldn't fold it nicely and there was a little tear, but there was still rice inside the egg so I guess it counts?

image.png

And we actually had too much rice to put into the omelette anyway so we just had 2 huge plates of rice and a separate omurice. It was still really delicious though at least! Sean also cut extra luncheon meat slices to air fry too since he likes it.

image.png

Overall, it was a really fulfilling meal! There was a hecc of a lot of rice so I was super stuffed after that. The rice was nicely seasoned and had a very slight spice kick to it just how I like it. The omelette itself was also really nice since it was still a little liquidy and soft, which is how I like my omelette actually. I think it could've used a little more seasoning but the rice was adequately seasoned so it matched well.

I think this omurice was a good attempt for sure, but the next time I'll definitely look up a video and give it another try! Hopefully it'll turn out even better!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

TacoCat (kinda) Cooks! #25: Chicken Cordon Bleu and Creamy Pasta! 🧀🍝

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79