TacoCat (kinda) Cooks! #15: Yummy Chinese Omelette and Rice! 🍳

in #food3 years ago

image.png

Hey Steemit!

We're back with more of our home cooking! If you're unfamiliar with this series, it's where I showcase some of the recipes we've been trying at home since we've been cooking a lot nowadays! Also I'm running out of content so yeah gotta make the most of it!

It's been a while since I've made any egg dishes and so I was craving some chinese omelette (or foo yong dan 芙蓉蛋) the other day and decided to try out this recipe again for dinner! If you're unfamiliar, it's a pretty popular Chinese dish and one that my family would always order whenever we go to tzi char stalls (which according to wiki is an economical food stall which provides a wide selection of common and affordable dishes which approximate home-cooked meals) in hawker centers here.

Anyway, it's basically an omelette dish with meat and vegetables and it's delicious! So I decided to try and make it at home with the help of this recipe from Rasa Malaysia; one of my favourite recipe websites because it's easy to read and follow and the author also keeps it simple and to-the-point.

image.png

But I decided to adapt it more to our tastes since Sean is not a fan of shrimp (and I'm not an experienced enough cook to deal with complicated seafood), I just omitted the shrimp and kept it simple with just pork luncheon meat.

So these were the ingredients I used:

  • 3 eggs
  • luncheon meat
  • half an onion
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • canola oil
  • light soy sauce
  • oyster sauce
  • sesame oil
  • salt
  • pepper

image.png

Step 1: cut and mince the garlic and onion

image.png

I have a mincer for this, but the onion had to be chopped into smaller pieces.

image.png

Then put them all in the mincer and let it rip!

image.png

Step 2: Chop up the luncheon meat, use as much as you would like but keep it proportionate to the amount of eggs you're using.

image.png

I honestly wasn't sure and I think I might've used too much since my eggs weren't that big. But hey, more meat means more protein.

image.png

Step 3: crack the eggs in a bowl and beat them up nice and smooth.

image.png

I always use a fork to beat eggs because it's quick and easy.

image.png

Step 4: Pour the minced onions, garlic and meat into the beaten eggs and mix them up until combined.

image.png

Step 5: Add all your sauces. I didn't really measure anything but I went a little lighter on the oyster sauce and sesame oil. Just use as much as you'd like. If your soy sauce is light soy sauce like mine you might want to pour a little more.

image.png

Step 6: Make sure the egg mixture is well combined with the sauces, especially the oyster sauce.

image.png

Step 7: Prepare a pan on high-heat and heat up some oil before pouring the whole egg mixture in. Make sure the mixture is evenly spread out so it'll cook evenly.

image.png

Step 8: After letting the egg cook for a couple of minutes, lift the bottom of the egg to check that it's cooked. And when it is, it's time to flip!

image.png

I only have a 12-inch pan, so flipping the entire omelette can be tricky. But carefully slide it out of the pan onto a plate first.

image.png

Step 9: Then try your best to flip the uncooked side back onto the pan. Let it cook for a couple more minutes and you're done!

image.png

I had our standard vegetable rice prepared to go with the omelette. For this I just cut up a carrot, threw some frozen broccoli in with 2 cups of washed rice and let the rice cooker do its magic, and voila!

image.png

And with that, dinner is served! We also had some baby russet potatoes leftover so I air fried those using my baked potato recipe!

image.png

Here's a closeup of the chinese omelette/foo yong dan! Sean topped it off with some fried shallots, but if we had some spring onions I would've used that instead.

image.png

I think it could've used a little more salt or soy sauce, but other than that I think it came out great! The edges were slightly crispy, and it was definitely packed with a lot of filling. Maybe a little too much but it was still good and yummy! The egg and pork combo was good, and I'm normally not a fan of onions but it's such a good complement to the omelette. I think the colour was perfect though. You definitely need a little more oil for this.

image.png

I tried frying the garlic and onion first before cooking the egg together and that one was nice too! So if you want to give that a try, go ahead and see which one strikes your fancy better! Enjoy!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

TacoCat (kinda) Cooks! #14: Savoury Sweet Honey Garlic Salmon! 🐟

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63490.29
ETH 2598.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78