Miss. Delicious #55 : All happiness depends on a leisurely breakfast ! W Hotel breakfast FEAST!

in #food7 years ago

Dear Steemit Friends:


In today's edition of travel with me, i'll be continuing my coverage of my adventures in Koh Samui. As you know, I was extremely lucky to have the pleasure of staying at the magnificent W Retreat Hotel. In my previous blogs, you've already seen the super exclusive villas available at W Hotel, and you've also seen the very fully featured and exclusive private beach resort. Now, let's take a look at what delicious delectable foods the hotel has in store. Will it be the English Breakfast ? Or American Egg Benedict? Come inside and find out!

My first morning at the hotel began excruciatingly early. Legend has it that the sunrise in Samui is not to be missed so I woke up at 5:30am just to catch the waking sun. After that, I made use of the whatever / whenever service and called a buggy to my villa to take me to the dining hall for some nice early breakfast.

The temperature in the morning is a soothing cool low twenty something. Not enough to feel like you're roasting, and not at all cold. At this early time in the morning, there was literally nobody at the Woobar, so I took advantage of the vacated sofas for some quiet relaxation time.


The restaurant is actually right below the Woobar!

Outside the restaurant they have these peculiar plants with even more peculiar vases.

The restaurant uses their signature wood theme for most of their furnishings and then combined with the ocean blue pillows, vases and sofas, the whole atmosphere is a very comfortable one indeed.

You might be wondering what those holes up in the ceiling are and where the lights come from..

That's right, they're from the Woobar floating sofa's up above!

According to the staff, the design of these lights attempts to capture essence of natural blue ocean lighting within the restaurant. I think they've done a stellar job with it, I personally like it very much.

The more observant people will have probably guessed the round circles in the Woobar serve as the lighting holes down in the restaurant below.
IMG_8969.JPG
Seating wise, I would have loved to eat breakfast out in the open air but temperatures rise quite quickly with the sun so i'd probably be cooked outside!

In the end, I decided to sit indoors by the window, shaded from the sun.
As you can see, the W logo is everywhere you look. They certainly like to pay special attention and detail to their branding.

The cutlery and dining mat are positioned quite oddly as if the knife accidentally got stuck inside the fork. Of course, looking around, I realised it was intentional.

As you walk towards the self serving area, you are presented with fruits of all shapes and sizes and colours. With the torrid heat building up, a nice cool and fresh fruit juice goes a long way to satisfying my growing thirst.


There's a dedicated chef ready to make all kinds of dishes with eggs.


For meat lovers out there, you'll be spoiled with a large selection of ham, sausages and cured meat. To go with them, there is an equally large selection of sauces.


For hot foods, you have all sorts of Thai specialties here. Thai curries, braised chicken wings, pineapple rice, all emitting such exotic smells, I was having a hard time keeping my saliva in my mouth!


There are also so many different kinds of cakes, cup cakes, pastries and bread. It's like a full on cake shop / bakery in here!


Fruit salads galore, and again, a tonne of different sauces to complement.

Next up, we have the mini bites and snacks area. Tonnes of sauces and herbs to choose from.

I'm starting to see a pattern - can you?


Spicy sauces are very popular here, Thailand is no stranger to eating spicy food!

The service here is amiable and very considerate. So far, living up to the already very high standards the hotel has set with their other services.

This beautiful silver pillar really caught my attention, not only is it absolutely huge, it's also got some amazingly detailed designs on it.

Usually, milk is the norm for breakfast, but here, they have a wide variety of dairy products. Milk, Soya Milk, Chocolate milk, Almond Milk etc.

I'm quite a fan of milk in general, so I pretty much wanted to try every single one. Even the yoghurts!

Fresh coconut juice, straight from the coconut!

A huge selection of wines and champagnes!


Next up we have various vegetables salads and cured meats.


Let's see what ended up at my table! All of these are carefully selected by yours truly!

Smoked Salmon Egg Benedict! Many restaurants don't serve this at breakfast, but even compared to the ones that do, this is the best i've tasted!

Next up is one of my favourite dishes, the Thai rice noodle soup. If I had a stomach large enough, I would probably eat about 5 bowls of this. The rice noodles are fresh and tasty, with a bit of added lemon, you get a sour and spicy mix, the perfect appetiser !


Omelette with sausage and bread.

Smoked salmon. I love that lovely deep orange colour.

Various Hong Kong style dim sum. I tried a bite from each and was surprised to find they tasted very authentic!
Also, I really love the different colours used. I'm not sure if it's healthy, but it's delicious anyway !

When it comes to drinks and beverages, I was more than spoilt for choice. So much so that I pretty much brought back anything that remotely took my fancy. Look what I ended up with.. Luckily, with the temperature so hot, it's easy to get thirsty and drinking them all was actually no problem at all!

Finally, let's get a final picture of all the incredible food! What an incredibly satisfying start to the day I must say, fresh, nutritious, healthy and delicious food is always a great way to start a day when on vacation.
Imgur
Hope you enjoyed this truly monstrous breakfast bonanza at the W Retreat Restaurant. Out of all the foods, what picks your fancy? Let me know in the comments below!

For more delicious blogs about food, don't forget to follow and be prepared to wet your lips!

Final Friendly Reminder!

Steem desperately needs our help to win a vote for listing at the BTCC Exchange. With only a few hours left, it's looking quite bleak. But, miracles do happen and let's not go down without a fight!
Screen Shot 2017-05-27 at 05.51.07.png
https://twitter.com/bobbyclee/status/865851769116475392


今天我想带大家继续畅游泰国苏梅岛,现在我们就一起来享受一下W酒店丰盛的早餐吧! 听说苏梅岛实际上不产海鲜,所以大部分食物是从它的本岛也就是素叻他尼运过来的。但是,让我惊讶的是,实际上的W酒店早餐规模算是非常大的了,与苏梅岛的其他酒店比起来,并且早餐的美味程度让我惊艳到,绝对不输曼谷的食物哦。现在就请大家跟随我的脚步,走进酒店的餐厅吃早餐吧。为了拍日出,我五点半就起床啦,叫好了Boggy来房间接我去大堂。清晨苏梅岛的阳光没有那么炙热和火辣,反而有些温和的味道。Woobar里一个人也没有,餐厅其实就在Woobar的地下一层。

餐厅的门口装饰着小植物,花瓶的造型好奇特。餐厅依然是用W酒店招牌的原木颜色为装饰的基调,配上大海般的蓝色,给人非常舒心放松的用餐环境。大家也许好奇天花板透着蓝色,并且阳光洒落的一个个圆孔是什么。没错,它就是Woobar那一池水。听服务员说这个有趣的设计,是为了客人能在用餐的同时享受海洋般水波粼粼的光线。我非常喜欢这个设计。细心的你可能发现,Woobar水池中间三个圆圈处,其实就是餐厅的天花板。其实我很想坐在室外的海边,风景好极了。不过这会越来越晒了,可能没办法在室外吃东西了。所以最后,我选择了窗边的位置坐下。走进自助早餐区,满眼都是五颜六色鲜艳的鲜榨果汁和新鲜水果。在酷热的岛上,来一杯酸甜的果汁即解渴又清凉。有专门的厨师等着为你煎鸡蛋。各种品种的火腿香肠腊肉,和不同口味的酱汁。各种泰国特色的热食,泰国特色的咖喱,腌制煮好的鸡翅膀和菠萝饭,散发出的阵阵香味,已经让我口水流出来了各种水果沙拉和酱。客人可以依照自己的口味调制。接下俩是各种小吃,小零食,还有非常丰富的酱料。各种辣酱,泰国也是个无辣不欢的国家呢。服务生们周到的服务,让我又一次感觉到了这家酒店亲切体贴的服务。说句题外话,还喜欢餐厅里这个银色的柱子,上面的花纹好漂亮。接下来是各种冷饮,奶酪等小吃,他们都被冰冻在冰箱里。各种口味的奶和酸奶,会让人每个都想尝尝。新鲜的椰子汁。还有各种洋酒,香槟。接下来是各种蔬菜,和熏肉。

下面看看上桌的早餐都有哪些吧,都是我精挑细选的呀。班尼迪克蛋,在很多酒店的早餐里都有,但是这家做的也很棒。接下来是我最爱德泰式河粉,如果我能有很大的胃,我会愿意一次吃五碗。河粉的味道很爽口,放了柠檬和小辣椒,酸中带辣,太开胃了。让人吃不够!选到饮料部分,我有点纠结,看着什么都想喝,所以就出现了这么多饮料,还好最好我把它们都喝掉了。毕竟岛上温度高天气热容易口渴。所有的事物来个合照吧!小岛上的早餐时光是我认为最美好的,一个营养健康的早餐,绝对是度假美好一天的正确打开方式。希望大家喜欢我的苏梅岛美食文章!之后还有更多有趣的苏梅岛故事等着和大家分享!

Sort:  

@sweetsssj you take awesome pictures!

Please don't EVER leave Steemit.

Keep STEEM N ON,
Frank

P.S. You probably have NOT seen a grown man cry...

thanks frank, it's been quite the journey on steemit, and I know it's just the beginning. You'll be seeing plenty more of me yet!

(No I haven't, and I hope I won't have to!!)

Good! That means @sweetsssj will NEVER leave Steemit!

:D

that's quite a heavy yum breakfast!
for someone who just had one - it doesn't show
how do you do that?

I must be my fast metabolism.. I really do try to get fatter but no matter how much I eat, I just stay the same :(

How old are you sweet?

She's one of a kind and probably will never leave in the platform. If she does, we will look for her at her place :)

Amazing! Youre on fire!

thanks goldmatters! Helps with such a hot place!

海景不错,食物也很精致,想不到泰国还有这么好的地方。

I am your fans :)

thanks cqf :)

You have such womanly hips that fascinate me as an Asian woman @sweetsssj - I find most Asian women's hips go straight down like a man, but you have the more European hourglass shape - I always find that shape much more sexier as a man :)

thanks mindhunter, I never noticed that before.. I guess it must be all that time i spent in Europe, maybe it's the food! (you know i love food)!

You know I love erotic art from my own recent Paris trip so I notice these things - so stay curvy and sexy OK :) Love from the da hunter.<3

What he's trying to say is that, you are beautiful, indeed.

Lovely place and great photos. I like the meat section most. :)
You look beautiful as always. I wonder if I can afford that W Hotel.

Thanks ealfskillz, meat as they say is the raison d'etre of human intellectual development (and many consequences later.. Steem) No wonder many of us love it :D

Always such interesting and beautiful posts. Fantastic job and I get to travel with you via your posts to places I would not be able to go otherwise!.

thanks team101; more to come, hope to see you back soon!

nice.....resteem and upvote for your post....

That s a lot of food..yum

Sooo much food. DIdn't have very big meals for the rest of the day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58