Miss. Delicious #41 : Xiamen's delicate take out to the rescue!

in #food7 years ago

Dear Steemit friends:


I don't know whether everyone's had this experience before, but let me describe it.. You're on vacation and at the end of a long day, you've come back to your hotel and it's already midnight. The only problem is, for some reason you're very hungry and crave some food but the restaurant in the hotel has long closed, and so has all the restaurants around the hotel. At that point in time, a take out can come save the day, just like charcoal in a snow storm!
Imgur
In recent years, we really have to appreciate the internet, not just for the dissemination of memes about cats and platforms like Steemit, but also for the unwavering amount of technical innovation that has led to greater connectivity and the streamlining of businesses from being primarily offline to now offering goods and services online. In 2017 the take out business has been estimated to be worth around 11 Trillion dollars globally. Even companies like Uber have entered the takeout business. Surely the internet and these services have changed paradigm for how people spend their money on food.


The emergence of internet directory services for food take outs has changed the way people live their lives, especially at times like midnight. It would seem as though takeouts have really saved the world! Haha, just joking.. So, lets take a look at my experience with a takeout services whilst on holiday in Xiamen. I think it's a great opportunity to understand the local food a little better as well an opportunity to understand the culture of the local takeout services.

Imgur

Believe it or not, it's sometimes a worry for people staying at Hotels to order takeouts. I remember once in Hainan, some guests brought takeout to the hotel and were asked to pay double the fee for their rooms. Here in Xiamen, they were welcoming of takeouts so it's not a big issue here it seems.

Imgur
This takeout restaurant has quite a special name, it's literally called "A restaurant opened by a crappy person". I laughed out loud when I saw it but I must say, with such a name, it's hard to forget it! Lets find out what goodies they have in-store! I was impressed that they provided a table cloth as well - very thoughtful!
Imgur
A ladle.. We didn't even order and soup dishes!
Imgur

These are all the dishes we ordered, let me introduce what each of them are. In a previous Miss. Delicious post, I mentioned that Chinese people love to eat Hot and Numbing spicy dishes for midnight snacks. This takeout is no different and proves that theory yet again. I'm usually not as fond of Spicy food but my two friends love spicy food and insisted. We looked up the takeout directory on our takeout app, and found that 9 out of the 10 takeout restaurants were only serving spicy food. I guess I didn't really have a choice after all!

Imgur
Rod Chilli Beef Strips - They've also added water bamboos into this dish, not only does it improve the taste, it also decorates the dish with another colour (aesthetics are important too!). After tasting it, I realised it wasn't actually very spicy at all, as long as you don't eat the chilli's it's actually very tasty.
Imgur
When facing spicy dishes, steamed rice is always a necessity. Here the rice is mixed with a sauce made from the pork fats and is frequently eaten in the south of China as their main dish. Xiamen and even Taiwan frequently eat this rice. As a person that usually eats plain steamed white rice, I can definitely taste the extra flavour this Pork Sauce rice has.
Imgur
As a city by the sea, Xiamen has some of the best fresh seafood. This is a a stir fry of squid. Usually the squid meat is quite tough, but here it has a softer complexion and retains much of the taste of the sea.
Imgur
These are Fragrant Spicy Prawns. The smell alone is enough to make my mouth water. During the day, people in Xiamen like to eat non-spicy seafood, but come night time, all the seafood is peppered with literally chilli peppers and other spices. I guess you could say, no spice, no dice?!
Imgur
Even these potato strips have Chilli Peppers. I must say though, that this dish goes really nicely with the Pork Rice.
Imgur
As I was eating, I realised this takeout restaurant is really attentive to details. The chopsticks they provided have a really nice white and porcelain design on them. A little but nice touch!
Imgur
Crispy-Fried Cayenne Peppered Chicken. Again, we're never far away from Chilli Peppers in any of the dishes.
Imgur
These are handmade deep sea fish cakes. After this midnight feast, me and my friends were anything but sleepy.
Imgur
The next day, we felt guilty eating such a big feast a night that we went for a belly dancing class haha!
Imgur
Hope you enjoyed my report on the local Xiamen take out food! Sometimes the best food is eaten at the least expected times and from the most unexpected places. Stay tuned for more exciting food posts to come..!

不知道你们有没有过这种经历,出门旅游的时候,在午夜的酒店里,肚子很饿。但是这个时候,酒店不再供应食物,酒店附近的餐厅也关门了。这个时候,外卖的出现就像是雪中送碳了。近几年,要感谢移动互联网,大数据技术的不断发展,互联网的波浪不断动摇传统餐饮业的地位,中国的外卖行业是一个相当庞大的队伍,2017年全年的在现外卖交易规模预测达到1183亿元。 “互联网+餐饮”的线下电子商务(Online 2 Offline)深深影响着人们消费模式的改变。外卖的出现,不知道方便了多少人的生活,尤其在深夜,外卖拥有着拯救世界的魔力,开玩笑啦。现在我们就来看看,我们在酒店叫得外卖,其实去一个城市旅游,叫他们的外卖也能了解不少当地的特色菜和他们的外卖服务文化。出门去外卖的时候有些小担心,酒店会不会介意外带食物,因为记得曾经在海南三亚的酒店,游客在酒店吃外卖被要求付双倍房费,不过这家酒店很宽容的允许我们了。这家餐厅的名字很有特点——一个烂人开的餐厅,看到就笑出声了,这样有趣的名字会让大家更容易记住。赶快一起来看看里面有什么吧!这家餐厅服务周到,提供了桌布。这是所有的菜啦,让我一个个为大家介绍一下,在之前的Miss. Delicious文章中我有提到过,中国人喜欢在夜宵的时候吃麻辣口味的餐厅,好吧,这次又一次证明了这个真理。本来我比较想吃清淡一些,但是我的2个朋友超爱辣椒,并且订外卖的app10个餐厅有9个是辣的,所以我只好妥协啦。野山椒牛肉条,里面放了茭白作为蔬菜,即提味又点缀了正道菜的颜色,其实吃起来并没有那么辣,只要你保证不碰青辣椒。面对辣的炒菜,米饭绝对不能少,猪油拌饭来自于南方人常吃的主食,在厦门这一带甚至台湾都非常流行。吃起来确实比白米饭多了很多滋味。厦门作为海边的城市,海鲜当然好新鲜,呛炒鱿鱼,白嫩的鱿鱼非常香。香辣须尾虾也让人馋得流口水,在白天厦门人喜欢吃不辣的海鲜,到了夜宵时间就把海鲜统统加上辣椒,口味不火爆不睡觉。就连土豆丝也放辣椒,不过非常适合和米饭一起吃。吃的时候我发现,这家外卖好细心,就连送的筷子也是漂亮的青花瓷图案。手工深海鱼饼,这样一顿深夜的美宴下来,把大家都吃得不困了。所以在这一晚之后,为了弥补一下吃夜宵的不健康,我们去上了肚皮舞课。希望你们喜欢厦门深夜的美食报道,之后还有更多关于厦门的美食文化要告诉大家。

Sort:  

Beautiful pictures and the food along with your shared experience was a real treat.

it was a treat to have too haha

Congratulations lady @sweetsssj for your dinner choice this looks very delicious, beautiful photography, excellent work. A real pleasure to visit your blog

thank you jlufer, always a pleasure. And thanks for taking the time to check it out.

Everything looks delicious! Definitely made me hungry. Thanks for sharing!

you're welcome kenny, how funny is it is the source which makes you hungry and the solution to my own hunger haha

I like that kind of spoon served in Chinese restaurants. Soups taste different on them!

haha i didn't realise that spoons can make the actual food taste different..

Man if only takeout food in my country looked so delicious.

I must say, i've had takeout food elsewhere outside of asia and it's really hit and miss..

the food looks really good!

it's surprising but it ranks atop of some of the nicer restaurants i've sat down to eat at. The fact that it was a take out really took nothing away from the quality of the food!

@sweetsssj
Thanks for the lol
this caused it

"A restaurant opened by a crappy person"

and you still bought eh? but I cant blame you !
drooling on the squid, prawn and spicy chicken now!

The table cloth it says no taste no poison. Makes me wonder is there one that has a taste and poison? loled at that one too.

Hahah this one really was hilarious, i couldn't believe the name when i saw it, i thought someone was trolling me.
I think you'll find in China there are many strange translations on things that don't quite make sense, I guess it's saying the cloth is tasteless and isn't made with any harmful chemicals?

@sweetsssj yes, it's funny indeed
I was loling when I was reading it last night but i was having fun reading it
China is on my bucket list
I want to see a village someone posted about here
and many other places
haven't been there !

These take out giving the hotel in-house restaurant good competition.

Especially when the hotel closes it's restaurant really early!

Your photos are very attractive ah, let me unable to hide greeds, I like to eat spice food and fried potatoes ,too!

Thanks lingfei, i've realised there is some what of an art to taking photos of food, which I'm still learning!

I guess you're truly chinese!

我有辣椒恐惧症,这些美味我是吃不上了。甜心,你很能吃辣嘛

我也不太能吃辣的,吃完要喝加多宝, 哈哈==

呵呵,王老吉也行嘛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83