#Whatscookingchallenge - A Man's Meal: Marinated Minute Steak Rolls

in #food6 years ago

OK, so we are heading towards the end of the month, that means our meals for the next week or two are back to basics, no more costly and elaborate dishes! Keeping my family’s meals to a budget is somewhat of a mission however, this is because I have a husband who tends to be a man’s man when it comes to what I feed him, that is; MAN MUST EAT MEAT!

To compromise last night, I popped some cheap minute steaks into the basket, while I know the husband would prefer a rump or fillet, tough-tekkies, he has to “meet” me half way at some point! Luckily (for him), come dinner time he didn’t complain, in fact, I was met with a cheesy grin and a “that was great love”. Phew, I made MAN happy.

He complimented me on the marinade that I rustled up, which made the cheap meat taste as delectable as the most mature of rumps! 

Here’s what I did to make an awesome meal, while sticking to a tiny budget - 

First you will need to gather the required ingredients:

  • Minute steaks pieces
  • One green pepper
  • Crushed Garlic
  • Peri Peri Sauce (I used my local store’s house brand)
  • Tablespoon of brown sugar
  • Sliced Jalapenos
  • Grated cheese
  • Buttered Portuguese rolls

My steps to rustling up this easy, yet delicious Man’s Meal:

  1. Allow your meat to reach room temperature before basting it in your marinade.
  2. To make your marinade; mix the sugar with the peri peri sauce and garlic.
  3. Allow your steaks to marinade at room temperature for at least an hour.
  4. Slice up your steak and flash fry with sliced green peppers and Jalapenos, for about 5 minutes.
  5. Place strips and marinade onto your rolls/buns and sprinkle with grated cheese. 

Because the weather is a little chilly here on this side of the world, the spicy yet sweet marinade was perfect and warmed us up just a tad. You’ll see that this is also a very easy meal to prepare, quick too! A real man-made meal!

P.S. 

This post was inspired by @jaynie, the creator of #steemitbloggers and the #whatscookingchallenge. If you often find yourself conjuring up a storm in the kitchen, you can enter the challenge too, find out more HERE. In fact, I challenge and nominate @what-did-she-say @onetree @mamameimei @marxrab and @deelusions to get cooking and enter the #whatscookingchallenge.

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189


Sort:  

What are you doing to improve your network?

Amazing💖

That's men for you, they always need the meat haha. This looks delicious and well done on making the marinade yourself, most people won't go to that much trouble.

Great meal for your man! @sweetpea:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34