Potato Salad: Perfect Side Dish For A Traditional South African Braai (BBQ)5

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I love potato salad, especially my own! I'm not a big fan of onions, which is usually included in this dish, but I replace the onions with chives, which makes this dish super delicious! I'd like to share my "secret" recipe:

The ingredients are quite basic, here's what you'll need:

  • Potatoes (of course)
  • Mayonnaise, one cup
  • Cheddar cheese (diced)
  • 2 boiled eggs
  • Chives
  • 2 Table Spoons Sugar
  • 50 ml milk
  • Salt
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • 2 Table Spoons Butter

Instructions:

  1. Boil potatoes until soft (cooked through)
  2. Drain water and sprinkle warm potatoes with salt and cayenne pepper. Add butter and gently mix
  3. In a separate bowl, mix mayonnaise, milk and sugar together
  4. Add mayonnaise mixture to potatoes
  5. Chop eggs, chives and eggs and to the potatoes - stir in gently
  6. Serve chilled and garnish with parsley or chives

I hope you enjoy this onion free potato salad! If you are looking for more side dish ideas for your braai, why not try out this pumpkin bake: Pumpkin Bake Recipe



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48