Happy breakfast anyone? Take the time to shut down the world and listen to yourselves!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hello again Steemit believers!

So, I woke up this morning and immediately opened the browser, typed www.steemit.com and just continued to refresh and browse and read through posts and REPEAT!!!

It was an exceptional morning. Not only because the introduceyourself post on my blog from yesterday totally nailed it, but also the fact that I was actually willing to do something before getting a coffee!

DSC_1203.jpg

After being totally energized by the comments and the upvotes, I started preparing my coffee!

Well... not really...!

Actually I took out my Nikon D90 (pretty old but I still love it) and started taking pictures for the next post on my Blog.

Yes! I was inspired enough to charge the battery of the camera, find the best lighting in the apartment, take out all the ingredients and finally have that damn coffee while waiting for the battery to be ready.

Since I have decided to write on Steemit properly, I have also decided to kind of put my heart out there and let people get to know me :)

This post will be on a healthy breakfast as you understood it from the picture and a bit more!

Until 2014 I really did not care about the way I treated my body, which is afterall the temple where our souls lie.

The carefree lifestyle worked out until I started having some serious panick attacks that later on turned out to be/ become an anxiety disorder. Anyone reading this that have not been through it will hardly understand fully what I am saying. And anyone reading this and relating with it, I have one advice only: Hang on there dear friend, because it is only you that will, at the end, drag yourself out of it with lots of self love and self respect! Listen to that inner voice because it is the key to everything.

Three years later now, I understand life will mostly throw you into situations where you will have to face all of your demons. Sometimes, even demons you did not know you could have inside yourself.

That inner voice, back in 2014, was telling me to start eating healthy and hit the gym. And hell I did so, otherwise it was getting so angry that was literally shaking me down to the ground and making me unable to breathe as I was blocking all of my muscles. All I could feel was a wave of fear invading me.

So, what I did was to start doing lots and lots of research on what kind of food benefits our bodies and how. I also started doing lots of soul searching in order to understand what I loved to do and how I could integrate it into my daily routine a bit more. And this breakfast recipe was one of the healthy habits I gained back then.

Since this is a food post let me do it properly and start listing all the ingredients and their benefits

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • DSC_1168.jpg

    Oatmeal contains from proteins to carbohydrates that keep you fueled up until lunch time for sure :). It also contains fiber, and just one cup of oatmeal has more than 10 grams of protein. Oats help you with blood pressure, diabetes, digestions and much more. Wohooo! However, I am not a doctor so I will just stop here :p

  • chia seeds
  • DSC_1167.JPG

    Chia seeds are known as supefood that help you with acheiving a healthy skin, aging, heart and digestive system, bones and muscles, etc.

    DSC_1162.jpg

  • 1 small bowl of yoghurt
  • 1/2 banana
  • grapes
  • DSC_1193.jpg

    Ohhh grandma' s yoghurt is all I can think about riht now. I grew up in a very small town close to the mountains in the south of Albania. I remember my grandmother making her own yoghurt in a very primitive way right after getting the milk from their own cow. I saw it all and sometimes I even helped her. Only one word comes to my mind when I think of that yoghurt or milk: delicious!!!

    Yoghurt is said to have the right bacteria that our bodies need! It is high in calcium, B vitamins and trace minerals.

    Bananas as we all know keep us happy because of the high level of potassium and come from the warm countries we would love to visit.

    Grapes are just awesome! They provide us with vitamin K, vitamin A, vitamin C, vitamin B6, thiamine, riboflavin, niacin and folate. They also contain minerals like potassium, calcium, magnesium, phosphorus and sodium. No need to say more I guess!

    To be honest and tell you the truth, when I finally prepared my breakfast bowl and started to eat it, I really did not think of all these vitamins and ingredients because I am not practising mindful eating. At least not yet as I cannot relax into those brain wavelengths once I wake up! But, for sure it was delicious!

    And here is the result:

    DSC_1197.jpg

    Hope you try it tomorrow morning :)

    Remember that mental health is something real and we should not neglect it. Take the time to shut down the world and listen to yourselves!

    See you soon!

    Until then, keep on exploring :)

    All the pictures included in this post are taken by the author!

    Sort:  

    Glad to see you Supernoval I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

    I just started today and I'm actually writing my indtroducemyself post, I found yours and you are AWESOME, inspiring and fresh. Thanks for the healthy advice

    Wow thanks!!! I am delighted that someone is being inspired by what I am doing in here! Really thanks! Just be yourself and write about what you feel even right now! I am sure people will appreciate it <3 Good Luck!!!! And.. ENJOOOY!

    That's great advice, and beautiful pictures by the way! Because of work or something else, some of us tend to neglect our health and bodies and it's great to call attention to this topic. Kind of like a wake up call. Glad to see you love your d90- who cares how old it is, you definitely know how to use it! Coincidently I posted part 1 of a series of posts today about how the gear we use doesn't matter. I always encourage everyone to go out and shoot pictures, shoot video, don't stress about the equipment-- except there's a little catch... for some... haha, I'll let you decide, and if you do read it please let me know what you think! Anyway, glad you found how to better yourself and how you reconnected to great memories through food!

    Congratulations @supernoval! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

    Award for the number of upvotes
    Award for the number of upvotes received

    Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
    For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

    If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

    By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

    This looks amazing! Your photography also really does this meal justice. It looks really delicious and healthy. I love oatmeal in the mornings. One of my staple breakfasts, along with egg and toast (And syrup which may sound weird, but it's a weird thing I love with egg. To make a dish savoury sweet. It probably taste better than it sounds, lol.) But yeah, eating healthy the majority of the time does wonders to your body and makes you feel great overall. This is a great post. Excited to see more. 😌

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.16
    TRX 0.15
    JST 0.028
    BTC 56111.00
    ETH 2371.27
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.31