What to Eat in Mexico – Cochinita Pibil, the Buried Piglet from the Yucatan

in #food6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: What to Eat in Mexico – Cochinita Pibil, the Buried Piglet from the Yucatan


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

Sounds like a recipe worth trying, very unique! If I didn't know the reason for the color, it would be surprising to see gray/black pork. Best wishes to Cesar and his "new" business!

Well, getting the right ingredients is a key. I can imagine he went back to the regular, red colored cochinita, as that tends to be be what people expect. Anyway, thanks for the comment, and if you think you want to experiment with Mexican recipes, I'd love to hear how it went.

Sounds delicious. I had in Hawaii the best pork in my lif.e It is called Kahlua Pig and they cook the pig underground in banana leaves with spices. It takes more than five hours but the meat literally falls off the bones. I can almost taste it right now. Thanks and when I am on Mexico City I will definitely go and see Cesar!

Burried food from Hawaii? Hmmm... haven't tried it (haven't been to Hawaii) but it sounds a lot like Hangi, a traditional food from New Zealand. Also buried, also in banana leaves, but in addition to pork it has other types of meat, seafood, and a local delicacy: mutton-bird. Thanks for the recommendation, though. When in Hawaii I'll make sure to try Kahlua Pig.

Seriously looks great. Your amazing descriptions always help :)

Thank you! And yes, I try to explain the unique taste of it... otherwise it would be merely yet another meat on corn with the same veggie sauce.

These look amazing. Grea description of the flavour. A lot of great food in Latin America come from very small and unique restaurants. In the town where we do our shopping, there is a tiny Mexican food place. Has the best food...

Looks and sounds so delicious, and now I'm starving! That's interesting about the recado. We only have red recado here in Belize. I've never seen the black!

Honestly, I hadn't heard of black recado either until Cesar mentioned it. So now I'm curious about the black stuffing. Happy greetings to neighborly Belize! :-)

I'm really curious about it too!

And greetings back to you in lovely Mexico!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82