Siam Rice Cooking Class In Chiang Mai ThailandsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

I finally know how to cook my favourite dish the Thai way

image source
Tom Yum Goong or hot & sour soup or just plain Tom Yum it doesn't matter what you call it's still my favourite Thai dish and this stuff is damn tasty the hotter the better. So the reason I took this class is because I could never quite get the spiciness right. Mine was generally sweet and sour with a little bit of spice. Yesterday I made a nice and spicy soup, truth be told I could have tossed a few more chilies in there but the mistake I had been doing for the longest time was too much tomato or at the wrong time. Above are all the ingredients you need to make one portion of Tom Yum. For this class, we made all the dishes with chicken.

image source
This is what your cooking station looks like. This cooking school has eight stations kitted with a gas burner each and your basic palm sugar, fish sauce and palm oil. As you can see she has already measured the water that we will need for the dish with a teaspoon of opium powder.

image source
Okay, so about the opium powder, that was just a joke in the class and it was a pretty good one. So, in fact, it was chicken stock and this joke made a come back several times throughout the night. Apparently, it was a previous student who told a friend that he should go to the class because they cook with opium powder. When the guy booked the class he told the story and it kinda stuck ever since.

image source
And here you can see my new found skills in making a proper Thai style Tom Yum soup and I just have to say this again it was damn tasty.

Eat Thai Food Like The Thai Do... Sparingly.

Peace be the journey.

Sort:  

congo! you finally know how to cook my favourite dish the Thai way

I can't tell you how stoked I am about that! Atleast 4 times a week from now on...

Congratulations!!


As a Team South Africa member, and due to the high quality of your post, you have been chosen to receive a well-deserved upvote from @mzansi 🇿🇦

Keep up the great work!! 😁

logo

To receive upvotes from me on all your posts, please consider delegating SP to me as per this post.

Congratulations @stephb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That looks damn tasty, time for you to come back and make us some soup!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62497.97
ETH 2428.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65