Steemit Culinary Challenge # 49: Simple Peanut Butter Banana PiesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Initially, when I read the theme for this week’s SCC, I told my husband that there is no way I am going to embarrass myself to participate. The reason being, I am no baker and you don’t want to hear my baking stories as they are absolutely horrifying, lol. The most I could do is to make mini muffins and that's about it.

But then, I was reminded of this one and only no bake, no flour, no sugar ‘Peanut Butter Banana pie’ recipe that I had. My husband loves peanut butter and banana. It’s a thing in North America and many school kids grow up eating peanut butter and banana sandwiches! They are a staple in our household.

Honestly, this recipe did not even cross my mind because I don’t even know if we could call it a proper pie as it does not go to the oven or requires any skill or what so ever. This is why, initially, I was not going to participate this week.

But then, when I read that the SCC will be ending, all of a sudden, I wanted to create good memories by participating in the last SCC and most importantly to show appreciation for all the hard work that @woman-onthe-wing has done for this challenge.

IMG_20171205_214457.jpg

IMG_20171205_214451.jpg

Mind you, this is not my recipe, I adopted it from the internet. Nowadays, there are so many no bake recipes like this one you could obtain from the internet, I don't really know who invented it but everyone is making it. But, our household only likes this peanut butter and banana version. Not only that, the original recipe called for many other ingredients, but lazy me cut it down to 5 ingredients only and they are:

  • All natural Peanut Butter (1 1/2 cup)
  • Ripe Banana (4)
  • Coconut oil (1/4 cup melted)
  • Dates (soaked in warm water and drained)
  • Walnut (chopped into fine pieces)

Below are the steps:

  • Place soaked dates and crashed walnuts in food processor. When they are mixed well and become sticky, spread them onto a round dish lined with plastic wrap. Flatten and form a crust base. Place in freezer to set.
  • Add the rest of the ingredients to food processor and blend well. Pour on top of the crust and freeze until firm.
  • When it’s almost dessert time, remove from freezer, just thaw and the mousse like texture will come right back.

IMG_20171205_174729.jpg

IMG_20171205_175132.jpg

IMG_20171205_180703.jpg

IMG_20171205_182052.jpg

IMG_20171205_185528.jpg

I have to say that I don’t feel guilty serving this to my family as I know that it contains some good stuff! But please do not tell my husband that it has coconut oil in it, he does not like that kind of stuff as he thinks it's insane that everyone is crazy about everything coconut these days, lol.

The sweetness comes from the natural ripe banana and dates. But, if you have a sweet tooth like my husband, you could easily drizzle maple syrup on top when serving. Tonight, I also topped with some walnut. My mother in law lives in Quebec, Canada and they produce some tasty maple syrup that even someone like me, who cannot handle anything too sweet also enjoys it!

Farewell SCC, I am so glad I submitted an entry this week and I will forever remember that I was brave to share this lazy pie, hehe.

IMG_20171205_214457.jpg

Sort:  

i like this 'kiss - keep it simple stupid' pie and well done. you are too modest.

very nice...i've heard of smoked salmon but never of smoked dates before ;)

haha - smoked dates sound good.

LOL - haha, I meant to say soaked. Thanks for letting me know :)

Oooh what a fabulous lazy pie @steemit-foodie, I love it! I too think bananas and peanut butter are a marvellous combination, so I can just imagine how delicious this tastes. I'm so glad you decided after all that deliberation to enter this week, as surely everyone is looking out for healthy sweet recipes for the holiday season! At least these days with more knowledge about healthy alternatives to conventional ingredients, such as dates instead of sugar, we can all enjoy wonderful desserts with no guilt and no unpleasant side effects! Thanks for sharing with us, and I wish you good luck!

Congratulations @steemit-foodie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47