It's a bird... It's a plane... It's Super Fu Wang!

in #food7 years ago

I usually have to go to China-town to get American food.

supermarket

Imports to Argentina from other cultures almost stopped five years ago, but the Chinese supermarkets seem to have everything. You just have to shop using the pictures on the packages.

That's where I go for peanut butter, root beer, Sunkist grapefruit soda and everything else I can't get here.

If it's not meat, pasta, pizza, and empenadas, it's hard to find, but the Chinese supermarkets are able to get things. Not much English or Spanish on the labels though.

Super Fu Wang

Sunkist

There is no problem with soda. You really don't need to know much more than the brand, Sunkist is good, and the flavor, which is made clear by the picture.

Based on what I have learned here on Steemit, the word below the grapefruit looks like it's in Korean.

It's All Greek to me

The rest of the can looks like several languages, none of which I speak, and I can't do a copy pasteover to foogle translate. But, I am really glad to have some other flavor besides cola, lemon-lime, and orange. Those are the choices here.

So, I was passing by a "Chinos" with a super cool name and thought I would swing in to get something to drink. I stopped drinking colas etc. because I am just tired of those three flavors. This is the same place I got the salmon for this post, but today I just wanted a soda.

No Nationalities.


Here in Buenos Aires, everything that is Asian is referred to as "Los Chinos". If you try to argue with them, you will lose. A lot of Asians have businesses in Buenos Aires and they are all call "The Cinese" cleaners, supermarket, or whatever.

I have tried to tell the Argentineans that there is no country called North America, but they still tell me that I am a "norteamericano." They refuse to allow me to refer to my self as an American either. They swear that they are American too - South American (still looking for that flag). On all official dodumets here I am listed as "united statesian" (Estados Unidense). Go figure...

end tangent

So many things to try!

Some noodle food

So I am at the market and it's hard to just get a soda when there is so much to choose from. I had to pull a couple things off the shelf and see if I am able to make them. I like the Ramen noodle soup that most stores have. Super Fu Wang has things that looked similar but with meat and vegetables somehow included. I figured I would try a couple.

This one doesn't have any English instructions on it, and I am not even sure if I have the package right side up. But, one package does have the instructions in English, pictured below, and I had to give it a try.

The Second Package

Noodles and meat

This one does have English instructions. It's time to try something new and see how it comes out.

A few steps. The noodles first then the dried veggies and meat get boiled with it.

A little oil mixed in with the noodles. Everything is in the package, the oil, the envelope to make tangy meat sauce which gets mixed in last.

instricutioins

Unbelievable that something of restaurant quality was stuffed into a single package. Larger chunks of meat would be the only clue that it was not from an Asian kitchen.

I don't know the names of these dishes. Again, I shopped by what was pictured on the packaging ( as I had for many years when arriving in Argentina so many years ago). I hope I can guess what goes where and when as I make the other one.

There is no English on it, but it should be fine. I 'll let you know.

It's nothing like Ramen

But, it did turn out delicious and different.

Done Chinese dish

Some may glance through this post and think I live in an Asian country. No.

The strangeness of this post is that I live in a Spanish speaking country where the Asian population is increasing. The stores they own are somehow able to import American food along with their own cultural dishes. From my point of view, I could not be happier.

I wish I were better with a camera.

I could also use lighter colored bowls and plates if I am going to continue taking pictures of my food. I'm working on it :/

I grew up with a ton of variety in the united states of America, back when they were still untied. Diversity was everywhere and everyone seemed to get along well. I ate all kinds of food and was always willing to try more and more different kinds.

I still miss Italian sausage, pepperoni, breakfast sausage (links and patties), twinkies, pop tarts, twizzlers, cheese popcorn...

Shall I go on?

thanks for staying with me through it all


Find me at @spongebobcrypto on twitter or on bitchute
Panorama.jpg

Sort:  

I'm not sure if the transition would be easy for me. I haven't had an orange soda in years.

It's funny, but California is full of Chinese owned and operated grocery markets, and they have everything. If you can't find an ingredient, just go to a Chinese owned grocery market.

I would love to travel down to South America. I always thought we were all Americans. A lot of people call US citizens americans. It's so funny how we all label each other.

I love this post and I hope you find more of all the food and junk food you miss from the United States.

I have been making what I can - I do my own dill pickles that turn out lovely. I hate labels but at least take a moment and get the person's country right. If nothing else, to be polite.

wonderful place and gorgeous photos thanks for sharing so wonderful travel moments. @sponge-bob

@sponge-bob excelente post (como siempre) y se ve que es un buen lugar. Saludos desde el país vecino!

You should try indian food

looks like a good place for asian food-I havent seen this franchise in europe

Very adventurous of you to try something you don't understand! The noodles you tried looks like Jjajangmyun - black bean noodles which is a Korean style Chinese dish. The noodles look nice and chewy! Great post :)

I didn´t think chinese food was so integrated in Argentina. Very interesting.

I can so relate with arguing about 'norteamericano.' Also, in the South of Chile, in Puerto Montt in particular, the Chinese markets are getting bigger and are a 'go to' source for stuff that you cannot find anywhere else.

Yup. They have it there 10 years before the other stores get s smart and start stocking it.

Interestingly)) And why did they stop importing food?

The government is very protectionist and quite greedy. They charge a minimum of 60% over cost as "customs fees" If something costs 75 dollars and 25 dollars to ship it here (even if it's a gift), you will pay 60 dollars to get it out of customs.

For companies like "Doritos" or "Snickers" which we do have here. The companies are required to set up factories and make those products here in Argentina. Otherwise pay the ominous customs taxes.

I priced a Camaro 3 years ago. It cost $110,000 dollars (or 1.7mm pesos) at the time. I called my relatives to find out what the same car goes for in the USA. $30,000

You have to be crazy to ship anything here.

To ship in or out one has to be crazy. Started a website down here almost 2 years ago based on buy/sell/trade for our artwork and prints, yet a little research on the cost of shipping out an original piece put and end to the project right quick (not to mention the 2 lines, 3 hour wait at the post office once just to pick up a decent usb bluetooth shipped in from the us /facepalm/ ).

Yeah, I really don't know how the Asian populations gets so many things through customs. Maybe some trade deal with no tariffs?

Norteamericano lol, good post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 60799.23
ETH 2640.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58