Homemade Frijoles

in #food5 years ago

I have always been big on Mexican food

The fact is that I used to work in a Mexican restaurant many years ago. So when I discovered that my youngest loves frijoles, I started looking for pinto beans.

pintobeans.jpg

This is one of the simplest things to make. Pintos are easily recognizable for their strips.

The first step is to sort through them and pull out the chilli-beans and anything else that is not a pinto. At the restaurant, I regularly found rocks in the mix.

First we rinse the beans and set them to boil.

At the restaurant, we had a ten gallon pressure cooker, and lard was used to help soften the beans (for today, I am using butter). Boiling works well as long as you do not leave the pot unattended, thus burning the beans.

When not using a pressure cooker, they need to be mixed regularly. The easiest way to do this is to bring them to a boil while mixing them every few minutes - then cap the pot and turn off the heat.

Come back 30 minutes later and repeat the process. That will help to avoid burning the beans if you get distracted.

What you need:

  • 1 quart of beans
  • 3 quarts of water
  • 2 tablespoons salt
  • 1/2 stick of butter (original: uses same qty. lard)
  • (optional) Tabasco sauce or jalapeno pure

Start with tbeans, water and salt.

Boil as directed above.

It will typically take more than two hours of reheating and mixing before the beans start to get soft. They will lose their stripes and take up double the space, but they are not done yet. Add water if necessary.

Check the beans often. Remove one and allow to cool. Pinch the bean between thumb and forefinger. If it mashes, the whole pot should be ready to be mashed.

Note: It is a mistake to take them off the heat too early. Better to let them go a little longer and avoid any hard pieces in the entire batch.

Allow to cool somewhat before mashing - avoid burns and injuries!

At this point you may add your butter and spice.

addingfat.jpg

Begin mashing so that the beans come apart. The pot may be reheated if you having difficulties with hard pieces, but if left unattended, they burn easily.

If you see any whole beans keep going. This will take some time.

There should be none that retain the shape of a bean or partial bean. When smooth, remove from heat.

20191123_114338_1.gif

Let the mixture cool. You may use a blender for smoother frijoles. My children do not like bits of bean or skins in the mix.

At this point, we are done with the first part of the process. Store the beans in the refrigerator.

If you cooking then start to finish, you may remove the several servings and finish the preparation (below).

In English these are called

Refried Beans'

For that reason, the next part is done in a frying pan. To be cooked again or re-fried.

Heat the pan and add bean mixture.

20191124_122656.jpg

Small amounts of water may be added as you go. I have never made them without adding water several times to keep it from getting too thick.

They should be very hot and maintain the consistency of thick oatmeal before serving.

You are done!

Frijoles may be stored and reheated many times and in my opinion, they only get better when cooked again.

They may be used to make burritos (beans, meat, sauce, onion, sour cream, lettuce and cheese), or they me served in a bowl with rice, my son's favorite.

20191124_123409.jpg

  • Frijoles with a smattering of red sauce, a sprinkle of minced onion, and a generous topping of shredded cheese!

I await your feedback. Please try not to put your fork through the screen.

sponge bob.jpg

Sort:  

ir looks very tasty. I enjoy the spicy mexican foods, love Tabasco sauce and specially has a crear love for burritos💖 yihaaaa!
Thanks for the recipe! 🌶️🌮🌯

Posted using Partiko Android

I love Mexican food, and practically anywhere in the world you can find tacos, burritos or enchiladas.

In Venezuela we use black beans (called "caraotas") to prepare "refried beans", the difference is that when the beans soften, we do not mash them to make them puree.

Greetings!

@sponge-bob you're a little box of surprises.

Work and need will not pass because you will know how to deal with the situation.

That will not say that you are less man for knowing how to cook, currently men are prepared in many things, even to run a home, if not work, but the wife works.

In Venezuela years ago, during my uncles' time when I was doing military service, he told me that there they taught them some things.

My brothers know how to wash, cook, clean, even hit a button.

And the beans are exquisite, rich, here we prepare something called a PINTAO that is beans with rice if you have a touch of smoked bones is added, quality remains.

Hehe. I grew up with two older sisters and a mom that worked. I have seen it all and I learned how to cook, sew, and even change diapers as a teen. I baby sat for spending money. I went on to become a mechanic as well as many other trades. Versatility is my middle name.

Great comment!

A man like I'd say COMPLETE, that's good, my brothers are on their way.

I did not know about the existence of this type of beans. Have you tried the "caraotas" or black beans?

Posted using Partiko Android

I may have tried those at a 'tenedor libre' but I cannot say for sure. I love everything to do with variety in foods. I will look for them when I am out and about!

How divine and nutritious are beans, a legume native to Mexico abundant in protein, fiber and vitamin B, in addition to being rich in iron, zinc and magnesium. Thanks for sharing.

why i didn't tried that yet looks cool

Que sabrosa se ve esa receta, me encantan los frijoles con arroz blanco @sponge-bob

how tasty that recipe looks, I love beans with white rice @sponge-bob

ESTM Boosting refund to @sponge-bob!
Due to one of these reasons:
1. Not posted from eSteem apps.
2. Already curated by eSteem team.
3. Need bit more improvement on quality of post.
4. Might be too old post.
5. User already received vote in last couple hours.
Android, iOS, Windows, Mac, Linux
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @sponge-bob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 9000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70