First Ever Chilpenadas - A Steemit Exclusive

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I have made chili from scratch for years, but never have I folded an empenada.

I have lived in an empenada prosperous land for more than a third of my life now. The other day I watched as @egonz sat down with a bunch of friends, and she started filling and folding empenadas before she could get her coat off. I had had her over the night before and they all ate a one time delight, chili with nothing spicy added, a sin where I come from.

coverChlipenadas.jpeg
Teaser Image

It hit me that evening. What if I were to add chili to the middle. So, that became the plan. It is a shame that her family had already left town by the time I attempted it.

The normal fillings are ground beef and onion, roast beef and onion, ham & cheese, spinach and cheese, chicken & hard boiled egg, Roquefort, basil & cheese, and on occasion, spicy ground beef and onion.

Never do they make any other filling. On the other hand, you never need a menu. I got those out of my head and any place your order from makes all of those flavors.

Today all that changes.

water

chili

Standard grade secret home-made chili, some water, and the empenada dough. My son, who is a native born, Buenos Airesean, empenada making, wizard showed me the ropes. First you spoon in your filling.

spoon of chily

round things

Let the magic begin.

Epenada Folder

My son, @vatman, whipped this puppy out in a matter of seconds. Then he showed me the other methods of folding the edges over and over while moving around the Argentinean hot-pocket.

I had to make my own variations, of course, which included a chill-cheese, UFO, shaped one. He set off to make his version of mini-burrito empenadas.

Soon we had filled the oven tray with a variety of chili-filled things, otherwise known as "cosas" in the local language. Since I do not own an oven, of the ordinary kind, we used my pizza oven which does most every kind of oven food except turkey and lasagna

spoon of chily

two empenadas

sponge bob.jpg

Here is a time lapse of the cooking process

And finally the finished product

cutting

Enjoy !

This was a fun home project. I was given a chance to try making something new.

It was a jam packed evening with lots of food stuffs stuck to my cellphone, but it was worth it to bring you all a new take on an old food.

Thanks for taking a look, don't let the time lapse spin you away from the desk.

twocut.jpeg

Share and Comment !


Panorama.jpg

Sort:  

Your photos and arrangement are nice.

As a passionate eater and cooker of empanadas I can say those look delicious, and I'm glad to see someone else breaking the standard mold of just carne, pollo, jamon y queso, and roquefort! Although, I will say you shouldn't shy away from the spice! Alas, the lack of spice in Argentine empanadas is perhaps my greatest source of sadness-- But I suppose that's more of a personal problem

Es realmente genial lo que has logrado con esa receta @sponge-bob y @vatman un auténtico argentino que sabe de empanadas fue de gran ayuda jeje y con esa máquina las "chilinadas" se ven deliciosas!!! Me alegra de alguna manera formar parte de esta idea... Jajajaja para el próximo encuentro probaremos las chilinadas.

Pd.: Perdón por el chili sin picante jejeje, aún así estuvo riquísimo!!! Quiero la receta!!

Muy sabrosas se ven estos pastelito aqui mas que todo lo haciamos con queso, carne molida y jamon. Ahora ni la masa se consigue. Interesante y apetecible post.

Los pastelitos son rápidos de cocinar, cuando se conseguían en los comercios las masa, la relllenabamos con queso o carne molida. Tiempo que no se consigue la masa lista para prepararlos. Gracias por compartir.

hello, sponge-bob you came out very well, at least since it looks like that, you have to try, the next one is full of drinks and dessert, and you make those empanadas.

Aqui se les llama pastelitos, son muy deliciosos y se pueden rellenar de cualquier cosa, demasiados ricos,saludos.

EXCELENTE!, lo lograste!!!, nosotros probamos la chilipizza. Me imagino su sabor y me tienta!!! Gracias por lo bien que nos hiciste pasar los días por allí. Ahora que vi como funciona tu maquina quiero hacer una similar. Saludos!

They look exquisite! great work of the duo!

Wow no sabia que eras un experto en preoarar lo más tradicional en mi país las empanadas. Pero estas se ven de lo mejor y hechas con la mano de un experto. Riquisimas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63192.94
ETH 2476.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69