Quick Ferments for Health and Culinary Delight: Purple Pickled Cabbage

in #food7 years ago

Purple Pickled Package.png

This recipe is so easy and so delicious you will wonder how you ever lived without it. I stumbled upon it while gathering ingredients for Falafel Collard Wrap that @micheletrainer turned me onto (thanks Michele! delicioso!) and I’ll be posting the recipe for that. That's my very first batch up there in the picture.

You don’t need to sterilize the jars for lacto-fermented foods, just make sure that they are very clean.But, since the red pickled cabbage takes three days,a las but yes a mere three days, let us begin.

Ingredients: Cabbage, salt, water

Optional: Onion, garlic, caraway seeds (use your imagination)

  • Cut the cabbage in half. Cut out the thick core and stem end.
  • Thinly slice the cabbage into shreds or small pieces or chop anyway you like. I chop long pieces. I like chopped onions and -
    minced garlic.
  • Loosely pack the sliced cabbage and other ingredients as you fill the jars.
  • Make a brine by dissolving the salt in the water. I use sea salt. Kosher salt is fine. I’ve never tried table salt, could work. One
    tablespoon salt per four cups water.

Pour the salt brine over the cabbage and spices. Gently press down on the cabbage and spices to release any air bubbles and to submerge them in the brine.

Cover the jar loosely with a lid (see my pic above). Place a plate under the jar to catch any suds that may leak out once active fermentation gets going and it starts bubbling.

Leave the jars at room temperature for 3 days. While waiting, check at least once a day and check to see that the vegetables are still submerged in the brine (add additional salt brine if necessary) and that no mold is forming. Mold usually starts after the three days, it if does it's fine just scrape it off..

By the end of the three days, the purple pickled cabbage should have a clean, lightly sour smell and taste.

Refrigerate.

Keeps well in the fridge for three months but I’m sure you’ll have it eaten up by then and onto new batches...Enjoy!

What do you think? Have you ever tried fermenting?

biophoto.jpg

@soulsistashakti is a musical artist and writer based in NYC. You can check out my music on my FB artist page at https://www.facebook.com/soulsistashakti

Sort:  

I need to try to do some turnips and beets like this...awesome and thank you for the mention. RESTEEMED! xo

It's sooooo easy!

Nice co-ordinated effort @soulsistashakti and @micheletrainer. You can use the jars for planters when you are finished with them too!

I have a feeling I'll be needing them for fermenting :)

I have heard that fermented cabbage has pro-biotic bennefits, in fact, it is very good for your health. The one you made there looks delicious! It reminds me of sauerkraut

Really good work, I would appreciate if you browse by my blog and tell mme what you think ! @soulsistashakti

It is very delicious and it goes great with the falafel recipe I will be posting tomorrow :)

Once again nice post with good and taste food recipe from @soulsistashakti
W
E
L
D
O
N
E
I think you are one of better cook master...and good housewife...
I always like your uptades in this platform..
Cheers!...

I'm actually looking for a househusband...LOL

@soulsistashakti, would you believe I wrote about fermentation today, too? Fermented rice water, for skin and hair. To use topically, not eat. But I do LOVE fermented foods! Kimchi, sauerkraut and mead are my three faves. :-) Great instructions here. Thanks!

Oh how cool, never heard of that. I will check out your blog. Cheers from Da Bronx! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60646.47
ETH 3379.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51