在廣式宴會會吃甚麼?| What do we eat in a Chinese (Cantonese) banquet? by @carinewhy

in #food7 years ago

This article was written by @carinewhy / 本文由 @carinewhy 撰写提交

About the authour / 关于作者:

Follow the author @carinewhy to find the other great articles from him/her.
请关注/追随作者查看他/她的其它优质文章。

Original text/原文如下:


image.jpg

香港的中式宴會就廣東式的。宴會分為壽宴、婚宴、百日宴等等。在宴會中吃同東西都很公式化,無論是壽宴和婚宴吃的菜單也是差不多的。日前去了恩師的六十大壽壽宴,中國人很注重六十這個數字。六十甲子以六十年循環一次,活過了一個循環在從前是很了不起的事。我把當天食的菜式都拍下來了,讓大家感受一下港式宴會吧。

In Hong Kong, we launch Cantonese banquets to celebrate birthday of elderly, wedding, 100th day since a baby was born etc. The food in all banquets are pretty standard except the dessert. I went to the 60 year-old birthday banquet of one of my teacher, I took the photo of all I ate there, let's experience the Cantonese banquet!
image.jpg

一桌可以坐十二個人,每一桌會放有菜單。除了甜點以外,任何餐廳的菜單都不會差得遠。中國人講意頭,不同菜色都會起個很長很吉祥的名。在宴會中吃的都是有意頭比較名貴、有氣派的菜。

One table is for 12 people, a menu was placed on the table. Except dessert, the menu in all restaurants are alike. Chinese love good signs, we name of dishes in the menu in a blessing way. I am sorry that I cannot translate the names in English because it would be very strange like "being rich fish". "being popular chicken".
image.jpg

燒乳豬
乳豬指未斷奶的小豬。燒乳豬對廣東文化是得重要的,是祭祀和宴會必備的食品。拜祭先人我們會用到,新店舖和公司開張前都會用燒豬作祭祀,求事事順利。從前在結婚後的三天,新郎要回禮給女家。如果新娘前還是處女,新郎會送上一隻乳豬。現在已經沒有這個傳統習俗,但是我們還在吃乳豬。

Roasted piglet
Roasted pork in very important for Cantonese. It is a dish for celebration in different scenarios and a sacrifice for worshiping. We use roasted pork worship our ancestors, and god before opening a shop or starting a business. In the past, after 3 days of a wedding, the bridegroom would send a roasted piglet to the bride's family if he found she was a virgin. This tradition is gone now but we still having roasted piglet.
image.jpg

蝦球帶子
蝦的廣東話讀哈,寓意笑口常開。帶子寓意帶子上朝,飛黃騰達。

Sauteed prawns and scallops
"Prawn" in Cantonese pronounced as "ha" which symbolizes laughing happily.
"Scallop" symbolizes having a higher status in Chinese.
image.jpg

瑤柱脯
瑤柱就是乾的帶子,味道更濃厚。

Braised whole conpoy
Conpoy is dried scallop, it has a stronger umami flavor than fresh scallops.
image.jpg

炸蟹拑
因為是金黃色的像黃金,好意頭。把蝦和蟹肉打成丸,沾上脆漿炸成。

Fried crab claws
It is in golden yellow and kind of looks like gold. It is deep fried meat ball made of prawn and crab meat.
image.jpg

魚翅
四大海味分為鮑參翅肚。翅就是魚翅。現在保育鯊魚的活動盛行,很多會用素翅或燕窩代替魚翅。

Shark fin soup
A symbol of wealth. As there are protests about protecting shark, many people serve fake shark fin or bird's nest instead.
image.jpg

鮑魚
鮑魚是鮑參翅肚之首。以減低預算,有宴會會用鮑片代替完整的鮑魚。

Braised whole abalone
A symbol of wealth. To minimized the budget, some people use sliced abalone or sliced scallop instead.
image.jpg

蒸魚
取其年年有餘的意頭。用的是大的深海魚,多數都會是海班才夠氣派。

Steamed fish
"Fish" pronounced as "yu" in Cantonese, which means remaining, able to remain money every year. In general we use big fish such as groupers and trouts to make the dish.
image.jpg
photo credit: Yedda, my friend

炸子雞
寓意炙手可熱。

Deep fried chicken
A symbol of hit and popularity.
image.jpg

炒飯和伊面
在宴會的尾段才上的主食,這時候大家都吃飽飽了,都會把炒飯和伊麵剩下來。

Fried rice and noodles
Carbs at almost the end of a banquet, most people leave them alone as they are already full.
image.jpg

甜品
這次吃的是紅豆沙湯圓。不同店家供應不同的甜品,例合桃酥、桂花榚、西米露等等。

Dessert
I had red bean sweet soul with glutinous rice ball on that day. Other restaurants may serve other Chinese dessert like pastry, osmanthus jelly, tapioca sweet soup etc. BTW, most restaurants do not serve fortune cookies.
image.jpg

壽桃包
桃子形狀的中式蒸包(很多人說是屁股啦),內餡大多是蓮蓉,也有少數用是奶黃餡的。在壽宴才吃的。香港人常常稱壽桃做壽包,其實這是錯的。壽包是人過世才吃的,在喜慶的場合吃的是壽桃,不要再搞錯了。

Peach bun
A kind of steamed bun in a peach shape (ok many people say it is in butt shape) with mostly lotus seed filling and custard filling sometime.
image.jpg

相信大家對港式宴會有更深入的了解,在你們的地方的宴會會吃甚麼?請留言告訴我!

I hope you guys are more familiar with Cantonese banquet now. How do banquets at your place look like? Tell me in the comment down below!


Author @carinewhy, Posted By @someone
eye.jpg

Sort:  

wow, you made me hungry now, can you be my mama? I want to eat your foods and drink your juice.Upped. Keep steeming to more success. Thanks to you @carinewhy and @someone for posting this here.

Feel free to see my latest post about how I exposed @dan ´s secret plan to take over the world. More success to you.

Excellent cuisine. So hungry if I see. Thick sauce and tender flesh. If it's served to me I'm sure I'm very happy and immediately enjoy it. Thank you for sharing here. I want to learn how to do this because it is very sure this is very educate me to try.

Thank you so much:)

Looks so tasty! Looks so different to the type of dishes that are served in Chinese restaurants around Europe. I guess they are more directed towards the European Market, but in reality , they vary a lot.
I will have to go there sometime in the future and see the differences.
Thnx for sharing =)

There are many types of Chinese crushing and they are all worn trying!

All look supreme tasty :)

This is an intriguing post to me, since as a girl (in US ) I had a chinese companion/friend named Audrey - and she took me to her Family's house on the lake - the point being, I got to experience Chinese dishes (Laid out in a buffet ).

As to the Cantonese #desserts, I went to #PINTEREST to look at some examples. The Egg Tart looked sumptious, and also the "Pandan Chiffon Cake". If Any of you'd like a peek, go to:

https://www.pinterest.com/mandee985/cantonese-desserts/?lp=true

Adored your imagery btw. Seriously !

P.S. :
I found the #Prawn being akin to "laughing happily" nice. And the pic of Fried crab claws

If anyone would like to try making the CHIFFON CAKE, here's the #Recipe :

http://pickyin.blogspot.com/2011/03/pandan-chiffon-cake.html

Very tasty food served by professional chef, made me so hungry to see and read her. Posting a very good friend. I love culinary and keep learning to be able to cook like they are professional chefs. Hope i can be like them. thanks for sharing @someone

The content is made by me but @someone help me to spread it to a lot people, thank you for liking it.

Wow.. good work. Tumb up for you. Nice meet you buddy. From indonesia

Thanks for the information 😉😉

Thanks for your reply!

I don't want to eat...

Why? You don't like Chinese dish?

Chinese food is much different than in Poland but also really tasty. But I have never seen peach bun before :D It's totally new for me, I want to try :)

It is a tradition treat for birthday of elderly, not many foreigners know about it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58119.05
ETH 2357.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36