Late Night Baking with Snook

in #food5 years ago (edited)



A few nights ago my kitchen was clean. My house was quiet and I had a sweet tooth that needed filling? What is a girl to do? I started looking up recipes for yummy things to bake.



Orange Chocolate Chunk Biscuits



I always keep a box of Bisquick on hand. It is an American item, I think. There are recipes on the internet showing how to make your own Bisquick from scratch. I love to bake. Baking means you get to eat something yummy at the end.

Making homemade Bisquick is just another ingredient to me. To spend time making a partial ingredient which will sit in my pantry waiting for me to want something yummy to eat...

I am very happy buying the bright yellow box with flour, shortening, plus other bits and pieces already mixed for me.



The Orange Chocolate Chunk Biscuits were made and eaten in two days. Hubby decided he loved them. This arrangement works well for us.

I bake goodies. I eat a few. Hubby eats the rest which means I can try something new if I am in the mood to bake the next night.

One of the hardships when visiting my Mother is baking desserts and they are still there two days later. After two days of eating something, I am ready to move on. It's a shame Hubby never travels with me when I go to visit Mom.



Tonight I was still thinking about those orange biscuits. Yes, they were that good. One of the ideas after making them the first time was they might be better without the chocolate chips. In the back of my head, I filed the recipe away with a note to make them chocolate free next time.

'Next time' came a bit early. About Midnight, my time to be exact. The recipe takes about 10 minutes to put together. A perfect sweet to make late at night!





The recipe calls for the zest of one orange, 2 1/4 cup Bisquick and 3/4 cup milk. Mix. You are done. Take an ice cream scoop or spoon and put them on a baking sheet. Bake for 10 minutes in a 450F oven. When biscuits are done, cool on a cooling rack.



Brown Butter Orange Frosting




When the biscuits are cool pour over either the glaze of orange juice and powdered sugar like they have in the recipe I linked above or you can make my new favorite frosting. It's to die for!!

To make the brown butter orange frosting you will need a small pan. Throw in about 3 tablespoons of butter and heat until the butter starts to get a brown cast to it. See the photos above.



Once the butter is brown take it off the stove. Add in the powdered sugar and orange juice from the orange you zested for the biscuits. Stir until it is thick and smooth.

Once the biscuits have cooled a little bit, add a nice dollop of icing on top. That is it. Now it is time to enjoy your hard-earned 10 minutes of baking with an orange biscuit!

With my tummy full and happy I am now off to bed. Happy Saturday for those just waking up! I hope your day goes as planned.



Help someone smile today. It can not hurt you.


Love,

Snook



All photos are mine unless otherwise stated.



Steem Witness's I support

Enginewitty!, Jackmiller!, Guiltyparties!, C0ff33a / Deranged!

The STEEM Engine

Sweet footer made by @enginewitty!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.snookat.com/blog/late-night-baking-with-snook/

Sort:  

Nice, sounds rather tasty and looks like something I can make with the kids.

Oh, you could for sure!!!
Hubby liked them better with chocolate chips yet he DID eat 6 of them last night........ LOLL

Wonder if I could make that in the dutch oven? Worth a shot

They are worth a shot :D Don't forget the frosting!!
Hubby liked them better with chocolate chips yet he DID eat 6 of them last night........ LOLL

Yummy! I love your recipe posts!

Thank you!!

Love YOU so much!!

You have received a @buildawhale manual curation vote.

Oh! Thank You!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50