Cooking is not as hard as it seems

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Recently I have been cooking at home.
My mom always complains that I cooked nice food (I took some pictures of my cooked dishes and showed her) in Kuala Lumpur (where I work, which are quite far from my hometown, Kedah) but not cooking for her whenever I am back to Kedah.

26992296_10159849710670134_5640655804613954923_n.jpg

One of the dishes I cooked and sent the picture to my mom


Well, you know, when your mom is around you would just leave the cooking part to your mom because you miss her cooking so much!

My mom came to visit me yesterday, and I was so excited to cook dinner for her. So I planned out the menu and went to the grocery shop to buy the ingredients for the dinner.

I bought some beef brisket, thinking of making stew beef for my mom. Unfortunately, when I reached home, I realize the beef was spoilt! It turned black and it was smelly!

photo_2018-01-28_08-18-49.jpg

Spoilt beef brisket 😭


I was super disappointed because I was so excited to make this stewed beef for my mom 😔 I have no choice but to change my menu for the night.

Unlike my mom, she always has the menu inside her head (I bet that's the power of a mother, always know what to cook for your children).
Without the beef, I was a bit struggle to think of another dishes to replace that with whatever ingredients I have in the fridge.

Lucky me, I downloaded a recipe app on my phone recently. It's an app developed in China so most of the dishes are Chinese dishes. I opened up the app and key in some of the ingredients I had. I got the idea of what to cook then.

Look at the dishes that I cooked following the recipes in the app:

photo_2018-01-28_08-18-45.jpg

Fried Prawns with Egg

photo_2018-01-28_08-18-42.jpg

Appetizing Fried Chinese Cabbage and Black Fungus with Vinegar


photo_2018-01-28_08-18-40.jpg

Cumin Potatoes with Mince Meat

These 3 are the authentic Chinese dishes in China which we never thought of cooking in Malaysia (except the Prawns with Egg 😆 ). I cooked all that by following the recipes in the app.

Looks pretty good huh? It was delicious too! Let me know if you want the recipes for these dishes!

My mom was so surprised when I cooked these as she knows I can only cook simple dishes all the while. She said she don't even know how to cook the Chinese Cabbage and the Potatoes the way I cooked!


The common issue when it comes to cooking is that you do not know what to cook. "What to cook" was the everyday topic that me and my housemates discussed about, all of us were scratching our head thinking hard for the menu of the day, and repeat that every single day! 😂

I was super addicted to it when I came across this app, and I bet if you like cooking, you would too. I have tried to cook 5-6 dishes following the recipes shared in this app, and it was super simple to follow and it's super yummy! Let me know if you are interested to know which app is it 😊

The app is in Chinese, yet I bet there are a lot of English recipe app around too! One of my Favourite is an app name "Tasty". Most of the dishes are westerns. I use "Tasty" app to look for dessert recipes most of the time.



Thanks to the internet, I think it's fairly easy for us to cook with all the recipes available online, some even have videos in YouTube teaching how to cook a certain dish or how to make certain dessert. We just need to follow the steps. It might not be perfect when you cook for the first time, but when you get the gist of it, you will get better!

Even my 19 years old sister can cook really well nowadays following the recipes too! So who said cooking is hard now?

If you have never cook, or failed in cooking before, I would encourage you to start / try again. Cooking has so much fun! When you see others enjoying the dishes you cooked (especially your loved ones), the satisfaction you have is hard to express with words.

Sort:  

@nkkb to @smile4ever I Know and so believe cooking is easy if one only try with their soul and heart.

#nkkb

hey @nkkb, I totally agreed to that!

Hi @smile forever....

I agree with you "what to cook"every day also is an issue to me.... I don't have every recipe in my head. What I normally do just be a "food innovator" or campak-campak base on ingredients I have :)

Problem occured when the taste is nice and someone ask me to cook the same dish again.... I forgot the ingredients :)

Always tag foodphotography next round Chris.

oh didn't know there's such tag! Thanks for reminding @carolfung! Love you 😘 😁

It looks delicious @smile4ever! I'm not much of a cook but I do make it a point to learn my fav dish... hahaha.. looking forward to see more yummy dishes from you :)

Try to cook some new dishes, I bet you would be satisfied when it turns out to be a delicious dish! ^^

@smile4ever the dishes look so appetising! Sorry to know the beef got spoiled. Can your recipe above in English? Im a banana 😆

Hi @francesaw, let me do my best to translate it for you. Which dish's recipe would you like?

@smile4ever Cumin Potatoes with Mince Meat please

Loading...

wah so nice... hehehe , you should encourage @maverickfoo to cook :D

Did @maverickfoo ever cook before? @maverickfoo I don't mind to become your guinea pig in food tasting! 😋

signature dish .. burn egg...

what?! Ok I think I better take my words back. hahahah

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 02:39:02
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 7.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Adoi, reading your post made me salivate and hungry again though had late brunch! LOL!

Oops, sorry for making you hungry! 😆

I agree, mothers usually will come up with a menu in the head first before cooking. This reflects on the items they buy from the Supermarket/market too :)

Yea! I really salute them.

Agree with @nkkb, only when you love to cook, it will feel more easier. Your dishes looks just yummyyy...

I always searching for recipes in Youtube, cos it will have the written recipes and the video to show you how it's done.

Yup! Follow the steps and you will cook well ^^

Yup! Happy cooking ya!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57729.24
ETH 3118.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37