Paradise in the Fire Hell

in #food7 years ago

20170816 slowwalker

It was very hot in this summer.
There were traditional drinks and foods to cool down hot temperature in Korea.

At first I‘d like introduce “Sikhye”.
It was made by the rice. It tastes sweet and cold.
Nowadays people drinks the Sikhye as a dessert.

Secondly, Soojeongkwa
Soojeongkwa is made by the dried persimmon.
It tastes sweet spicy and cold.
It tastes very good. Once you taste, you never forget the Soojeongkwa. I bet you.
In the past, they had eaten the Soojeongkwa as a medicine.

Third is Water Melon cold soup.
Water melon is a fruit for the summer. In Korea there was a our method to enjoy the water melon.
They put some other fruits and the ice and mix together.
The way to enjoy the water melon seems not so special in comparing to other country. But we koreans have enjoyed this kinds of water melon for a long time.

Last one is cucumber cold soup.
It’s taste is different from above ones. Other were sweet drinks. But cucumber cold soup is not sweet.
It uses vinegar, so it tastes sour.
Sour taste + ice = cold taste.
Before having a lunch in very hot day, it could be a nice appetizer.

Above 4 drinks have long history. You can find it in a old history book.

Today what I’d like to introduce to you is “Pat BingSoo”
Literally it means that ‘Red bean Icy Water’
It is said that the red bean is very good for health in hot summer.
Pat Bing Soo is unique korean traditional food to cool down the hot weather. But it’s history seemed not so long like Soojeongkwa and Sikhye, etc.

At first, Pat Bing Soo was so simple.
It started from Sliced ice, red bean jam and some sweet additives. It evolves over time.

Nowadays Pat Bing Soo becomes magnifisencent.
Ice is not water but milk, ice cream and other additives are using.

This is a one of humble Pat Bing Soo
White ones are rice cakes, red one is strawberry

This one is awesome, You can mix it all together and enjoy this one.

This Pat Bing Soo might make you glad to have a hot summer.

It is not easy to make, try it please, then you could find the paradise in the hot hell.

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @slowwalker.

Lovely photographs and commentary about a favourite topic......cool deliciousness.

Yes....one of the first introductions to cold soups and other such delicacies was through Korean cusine. Amazing idea and tasty. Pat Bing Soo....Redbean Icy Water.....is one of the best. Appreciate knowing its Korean name.

All the best to you. Cheers.

thank you so much

A refreshing change of pace today, @slowwalker, with a post about cool treats on hot summer days! Very appropriate.

Several of the cool treats you featured are lovely desserts and I will try making them. I can tell by the beautiful photos that they must be appealing to the taste because they are a feast for the eyes.

The cold cucumber soup is intriguing because we already make a dish quite similar but it never occurred to me to use it in this way as a cold refreshing soup on a hot day.

The weather here in Ontario has been very hot as well. People think of Canada as cold, but some parts of Canada are further south and more temperate than parts of the United States. To add to our misery, the humidity from Lake Ontario can make an 80 F day feel like 100F.

Some excellent and timely suggestions in this beautiful post, my friend.

I didn't know ontario is hot in summer.
thank you for your comment

look like yummy ^0^

Those dishes look so interesting! I hope I can visit Korea some day :)

very nice post

absolutely you need to visit

Wow amazing food @slowwalker looks very yummy i like all

very nice post

try it,
it would be easy for you

I will try to make food like this, and I will make a special post for you @slowwalker hehe 😂

thank you so much silvia

Hi Slowwalker ..
I see your posts always have a high value, even occupying a tranding position. From the first I follow you, I do not see any bad posts from you. You become a motivation for me in making a post, but I can not make a good post like you.

You tell me about the food that is in Korea, it makes me tempted with the food, especially for ice cream and cucumber. I want to try. Let me share (Resteem) your posts, as your fans.

thank you for your compliment
try cucumber cold soup is easy to make

Yes, I will try it and create a shape like this.
It seems very tempting. :)

The food looks delicious and you've taken beautiful photographs. Thanks for sharing this post!


Thanks For Read :)
To read my future writng please follow my account.. follow me at @nikunjo

I've never seen these dishes before.
However, they look absolutely delicious.
Definitely some great things here to refresh you after a long laborious day.
My favourite is probably the Pat Bing Soo
Thanks for sharing some Korean food with us @slowwalker

Yes Pat Bing Soo is excellent

All of these look very refreshing ! I need to visit Korea or an authentic Korean restaurant to try some. Very unique and delicious

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50