I ate wild vegetable mixed rice on business trip

in #food7 years ago

I had a business trip some days ago. As usually my business trip was seeking ways in the forest and mountain. We had ridden and visited several places. Next schedule was walking through the mountain and verifying report.

We were tired and hungry. At this time we found a shabby restaurant on the road. Their menu was the mixed rice with various wild vegetables.

Entering the restaurant, we could look at the forecourt.

.

They were preparing the wild vegetables. Preparing wild vegetables is complicated process. At first collecting in the mountain and the field, 2nd boiling, 3rd drying to preserve for long time. 4th boiling to eat

This was drying to preserve.

The day we visited was very sunny, so it was nice to dry the vegetables.

This cactus was nice.
At first, I thought the restaurant owner was loving cactus.

But they told me this cactus was a kinds of wild vegetables.
The fruit of this cactus was using for making a nectar.
They told me the fruit of the cactus is very helpful for various diseases.

The earthen wares were full of the forecourt.
The earthen wares were using to make the soy sauce and duinjang.
The duinjang is similar to the japanese miso, but duinjang needed to much time to fermentate.


The restaurant made all sauces by themselves. In korean cuisine, the most difficult thing is preparing sauce, because waiting time is essential in making traditional sauce.

The table was prepared.

This is wild vegetables, radish was added.

Duinjang stew and the pork

.

fresh vegetables and pork with duinjang

It seemed that I was very hungry. I ate for a while and thought that I didn’t take a picture to mix the rice with vegetables.
So I stopped to eat and took a picture.

We all satisfied.

There were dried vegetables on the wall to sell.

When you visit korea, try the wild vegetable rice. You will like it.

Sort:  

@slowwalker the food certainly looks fresh and would have been quite aromatic when it was cooked. My girlfriend Grace makes great fried rice - I will have to learn how to cook with some vegetables in it for her and hopefully out do her cooking! Thanks for sharing. :)

Thank you for your dropping by

No problem. It was an enjoyable read.

@slowwalker nim
next time kachi kaja!
are those kimchi jars?
have you read @jrcornel's post?
he's presenting a very very huge opportunity
you should check it out

Did you try the cactus? The pads are delicious sliced and sautéed in olive oil (after you take the prickers off) along with onions. The fruit is sweet and great for making jelly and sauces. I actually juice the fruit, too. That type of cactus grows all around me. Enjoyable post! Thank you.

I didn't know that cactus was edible

Yes. The type in your picture is. When it's prepared properly it tastes delicious.

Is it just me or do some of these pictures just look like a metric fuckload of shrooms? Was this a business trip or a business trip if you catch my drift?

I love rice mmm

Thanks for sharing. I'm following you, please follow me anda give me upvoted

I follow too! Thanks for sharing.

I find your culture and customs to be very attuned to Nature. What we in North America consider health food or vegan is the way you have been eating for thousands of years. It is good for the Earth and good for us. Lovely pictures! Every photo is a little adventure :)

Thank you so much

you're welcome :)

Wow looks like some very interesting fool there. But I does also look good:) it almost reminds me of pork lau lau; a delicacy here in Hawaii. Thank you for sharing!

Always up for trying something different, looks like you had a good time!

Woww...I like it @slowwalker

Thank you so much

오늘도 좋은섯 드셨네요
묵나물(말린나물)은 조상들의 지혜지요

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.62
ETH 2642.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59