Strange Fruit from the Philippines

in #food6 years ago

@bingbabe has been buying these strange looking fruit parcels from the local Filipino store. As a native English person I would not generally be exposed to this kind of fruit but in one of the cases, I’m glad I was.

w6blukn6fu.jpg

The purple looking things with green stalks are called Purple Mangosteen and are a seasonal fruit. They are expensive as hell at £4 for a single pack (7 in a pack), and are in big demand from the local community.

It seems that everyone wants to buy these and you can only have your quota when a delivery is made! This tells me something very important. They must taste really good.

fzcxqz8ykr.jpg

Opening one of these up reveals segmented sections of white fruit that resemble a ‘fat white arse’ if I had to describe it. They do taste really good, very sweet and fresh.

The other pack of fruit looks like oversized nuts but are squashy and more yielding. I have always called these ‘sweaty balls’ as the insides resemble what I would imagine them to be.

js7qoagug8.jpg

I am one for giving things names, so you will have to excuse me on that front. The official name for this fruit is actually Lanzones. These are even more expensive than the 'fat white arse' fruits. You get more for your money I suppose.

v105dchysl.jpg

The taste of Lanzones is also sweet but not really to my taste. I have had some that are a little sour and so I always pass when offered these.

The last picture looks like a bowl of monkey nuts, and you would be absolutely right as that is just what it is. The difference is that these have been boiled and so are now ‘cooked nuts’. The local name for these is ‘Mani’ but I can’t find a reference for them.

yinwaci8d6.jpg

@bingbabe informs me that she can remember eating these while very young in the Philippines, and consuming them reminds her of home.

What is my take on the cooked nuts? They taste a little watery, which is not surprising as they have been boiled. She’s vigorously munching on these but I think I may prefer my nuts raw. Don’t take that the wrong way now!


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

I would love to have access to all these fruits. Are you married to a Pinay? Living there or in UK?

I am in the UK and married to a Pinay, you know the speel it seems!

Yes sir I have a wonderful Pinay asawa as well.
Best choice I have ever made in my life.

Hello. I'm from Indonesia, and these fruits are local fruits that are very easy to find in Indonesia.


Called Manggis. Manggis is my favorite fruit.


Called Duku

And the last one, called Kacang Tanah. Usually served as a night snack by boiling.

Greetings from Indonesia

I'll mention this to my wife, thanks for the info!

My pleasure to sharing the info. You're welcome @slobberchops

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 212 (7/31/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Aside from the good taste of the mangosteen, one of the reasons why Filipinos buy them every chance they get (albeit expensive) is because of their health benefits. They have made mangosteen capsules in here. As for me, I just love the taste of mangosteen :) The boiled nuts however is a different story because they are my favorite :) As a Filipina, it makes me proud to see you having (and hopefully enjoying) these.

I’ll have to admit I’ve never seen these fruits before. Strange fruit to me but looks good to eat. The first photo of the purple fruit looks like cute bird like faces.

I haven't had the "sweaty balls" fruit before but I absolutely love mangosteen! So sweet and delicious (although more expensive than other fruit)

My wife and I have found that most all fruits and vegetables are expensive. It costs a lot of money to eat healthy. Usually we find that half of our weekly grocery bill is the fresh fruits and veggies. These look like something I would love to try though. Many of the party stores around us sell nuts similar to those. Like most things American though I think our are deep fried :)

I don't think I've ever seen those here. That mangosteen looks pretty good though.

I was actually looking at a mangosteen earlier today at the market. It has been a while since I bought some. I'm glad you enjoyed the taste and the way you described it cracked me up lol.

Awww dude, have you came across Durian yet? That's even better, also, I highly recommend Rambutans, Jackfruit, Ciku and snake fruit =)

Jackfruit for sure, she has some Dragonfruit too whatever that is!

Its from a cactus like plant, really sweet and sour, definitely recommended!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78