Food Journal Entry #3: Delicious Potatoes and Squash Fritters

in #food6 years ago (edited)

If I could, I'd make these delicious fritters every day. Seriously. Easy, inexpensive, yet totally gourmet food.

IMG_3282 (2) SDL.jpg

Ingredients:
3 large Russet potatoes, peeled and shredded
1 large yellow squash, shredded
4 garlic cloves, grated
2 eggs
¼ cup parmesan (or to taste)
3-4 T flour of choice (for gluten-free, store-bought gluten mixes or plain rice flour work well)
salt
ground black pepper

Directions:
Add all the ingredients to a bowl and mix well. Place large spoonfuls of the mixture in a shallow layer of hot oil and flatten them, giving them a loose round or oval shape. The mixture will be moist, but will hold together as it cooks. Fry a few minutes on one side, until golden-brown. (I like them brownish.) Flip them over and cook them on the other side a few more minutes until done. Add more oil as needed. (I usually add a couple tablespoons of oil two-three minutes after I flip them.) Let cool completely and serve with your choice of sauce. I love them with sour cream, but you can experiment with other sauces. Great as main dish, side dish, for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, or even in burgers and sandwiches. Honestly, many times they constitute my whole meal.

Some tips and secrets:

  1. Add a generous amount of black pepper (I use about ½ teaspoon), and don’t hold back on the garlic (unless you really aren’t into garlic), it really helps bring out the taste.
  2. Let cool for at least one hour. They harden as they cool, and have a much (much!!) better flavor and texture when completely cool. I find that they taste best a few hours or the next day, though most of them don’t last that long!! I usually place them in the fridge to cool.
  3. I’ve made these without the squash and are delicious as well, but I like adding the vegetable for more fiber and nutrition.
  4. Tried them with red and golden potatoes, and I prefer them with the hard, Russet potatoes. The other ones were tasty too, just take a little longer to harden and are a bit more difficult to manage.
  5. I have successfully used olive oil and canola oil to fry them. The oil changes their taste slightly, but they are delicious either way. I think any oil without too strong of a flavor will do.

Guaranteed to please!

Will you try them? Yummm.

See the other recipes I've posted so far, and follow to not miss out!
Huevos Rancheros: https://steemit.com/food/@shadalene/huevos-rancheros-recipe
No-knead Crusty Artisan Bread: https://steemit.com/food/@shadalene/no-knead-crusty-artisan-bread

Sort:  

Yep, I would devour that.

What I always do, haha!

This looks amazing!! Will try it for sure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33