Cotton Candy Flavored Grapes!? My Crazy, Exotic Fruit Salad

in #food8 years ago

Hey everyone! Today I wanted to do a lighthearted post featuring the unusual fruit salad I made for lunch with produce from an awesome grocery store, Berkeley Bowl. I'm something of a weirdo myself so it only fits that my culinary choices would be a bit, well—unusual—as well. ;)

My delicious fruit salad includes: Dragonfruit, Kadota Figs, Pepino Dulce, Horned Melon, Cotton Candy Grapes, Royal Star Papaya, Ichiban Nashi Asian Pear, Blackberries, and Strawberries!

Most of the produce was organic and non-GMO as an added bonus. The ingredients all together cost $25, which was definitely cheaper than I anticipated given how heavy my basket was.

Enjoy vicariously through my pictures!


I felt joyously crazy when artfully plating this fruit just for Steemit


Non-GMO Cotton Candy Grapes! They ACTUALLY taste like cotton candy. Mind. Blown.


Dragonfruit


Scooping out the dragonfruit

Dragonfruit, despite its gorgeous appearance, tastes unexpectedly bland; I learned from a friend several years ago that the trick to making dragonfruit taste delicious is adding a squeeze of lime!


Huge, juicy blackberries! Lime for size comparison


Honeydew melon-flavored Pepino Dulce

Pepino Dulce is a fruit in the nightshade family that tastes a bit like honeydew melon and has a smooth texture. It's one of my favorite fruits—when I can track it down, that is.


Sour tasting Horned Melon

Horned Melon, also known as Kiwano, is pretty tart and pulpy with sunflower seed-sized, edible seeds. The texture reminds me a bit of passionfruit but is even less sweet. You can see the green flesh inside the fruit in the very first picture.


Green skinned, tender Kadota Figs

Finally, after chopping and peeling the medley of bizarre produce I was free to enjoy the fruits of my labor, so to speak.


Ta da! The final, mouth-watering result

My fruit salad turned out to be a delicious, mid-day snack with the perfect combination of flavors and textures.

Thanks for reading, and hopefully you'll feel inspired to try out new and unusual fruit the next time you're checking out the produce section of a grocery store or your local Farmers' Market.

Cheers!

Sort:  

This eotic fruit salad will bring you to a heaven.

Cotton candy grapes are my favorite. Wish I got to eat them more often.

Hehe same, good thing the season is coming up!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Awesome, thanks for highlighting my piece! Hope someone else out there enjoys making this fruit salad.

I love fruit salad. I must try dragon fruit. I'd never even heard it before. You mention it is quite bland but does it have any particular features that make it more than just a curiosity?

Me too, especially during the summer! Definitely try dragonfruit if you see it - you might have luck tracking it down at an Asian supermarket. The texture is really enticing, actually, because the little seeds are a bit crunchy with hints of sesame. Adding lime makes the fruit itself taste very floral. :)

OK cool. So it has a good texture. Will see if I can find it.

Congratulations @runaway-psyche! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Hey runaway-psyche , yammmii I want to taste :) I want to focus especially on newcomers but also on people that are very active. My plan is to build up a community with active users to support each other and creating a curation trail. Looking forward to curating more effectively, would you be interested? Upvoted and following, greetings Lena!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60752.39
ETH 2904.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73