Food Fridays # 19 - Saburo Ramen In Hachioji

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I'll always remember the day I became too old to finish a bowl of ramen, or was it the day the ramen was too fucking big! I'm really hoping it was the latter.

@tokyowomanslife and I were doing some shopping in Hachioji recently and decided to grab some ramen for lunch. Strangely we haven't explored that many ramen shops in and around Hachioji, where we live. This day we were going to break that trend. We decided to go to Saburo Ramen.

Inside it looked like a thousand other ramen shops we've been to, but when we sat down we saw two things that caught out attention. One was the option of garlic or ginger as a topping. The other was the monstrous proportions you could choose to order. 

We both opted for the normal portion, which turns out to be American size. I ordered miso and my wife ordered tonkotsu. I'll never understand how my thin Japanese friends can pound beers and eat heaps of ramen without getting fat. Maybe they just don't order the extra toppings like cheese? Actually this was the very first time I had ordered cheese on ramen. I had heard about it being a topping many years ago, but never had the opportunity to order it, until I visited this place.

While we waited I decided to snoop around the kitchen. It looked fairly clean and I didn't see any health code violations other than someone who had ordered the mountain sized ramen. That was definitely not good for you health.

Then my dream ramen arrived! It looked better than I had expected, but how did it taste??

Omg, omg, omg!

Meh. It was totally normal, nothing special. How could that be? It looked so fantastic! I am not sure why it wasn't delicious, there just wasn't anything that stood out, not the chashu, soup, not even the cheese!!

I tried and tried to find some redeeming quality, but to no avail. In my quest for flavor I ate as much as I could and that turned out to be a mistake. As soon as I walked out the door the food coma kicked in.

Which lead me to a painful conclusion, I'm throwing in the towel. No more ramen for me. I can't eat it anymore. It sends me into a food coma and I am wiped out for the rest of the day. I guess from now on it will just have to be sushi or wagyu. I'm not complaining though! On to Jiromaru!

Thanks for reading!

I am part of the @Steemit-jp Japan & @SoCalSteemit communities. Please consider supporting them with delegations and upvotes for unique & interesting content!

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 35.653873 lat 139.339702 long Food Fridays # 19 - Saburo Ramen In Hachioji d3scr)


Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=rt395
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=food-fridays-19-saburo-ramen-in-hachioji


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Ok... so was it 'nothing special' for Japan Ramen, or 'nothing special' as far a food goes? I've never had 'real' Ramen....

Nothing special for Japan ramen. It really is an art because 1 ingredient can carry the dish or destroy it. When all of them work together it is amazing!

If you are ever coming out to the OC I'll take you out to a pretty good place. I'll bend my rule of never eating ramen again to have a bowl with friends.

sounds good :)

If an American says the portions are big, then they really must be massive!!

Ok, I exaggerated a little. But the big portions were huge!

OMFG final conclusion made you unable to eat ramen.....(smile)

I am getting too old....

really? I think You are still young challenge eating many shusi soon💛

OMG!!!!I love ramen jiro, so I like this ramen!!!!

Have you tried it?

I have not tried it.
I want to eat it.
sorry, my English is bad.

なんですか〜このラーメン。斬新!!

Innovation, but the flavor was boring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42