Chinese Dumplings a la Romeskie

in #food5 years ago

I haven't tried cooking dumplings before so this is another one of my experiments in the kitchen. This is a bit challenging since I don't have a steamer at home, I needed to improvise. The ingredients are really very easy to find. Putting them together wasn't that hard too.

image

So here's what you need:

1/4 kg ground pork
1 carrot diced into really tiny pieces. (You could go ahead and use a blender for this one.)
1pc onion
4 cloves garlic
1 pc egg
Salt and pepper
Wanton wrapper

Just mix all the ingredients together. It's better if you let it sit in the fridge overnight for the flavors to really come together. Or you can also wrap it with the wanton right away before you leave it on the fridge overnight.

So just put some of the mixed ingredients into the wanton wrapper and then just close it up. I thought preparing would be difficult. Maybe it is, I may have missed some special procedures since I just sort of did a spring roll recipe but wrapped it in wanton wrap.

image

I used a strainer to sit the dumplings to be steamed, then put it above a a bowl inside my cooking pot. Then I poured some water around the bowl and covered it. The challenge is how to remove the cooked dumplings from the strainer. The first few pieces fell apart until I got the hang of removing them from the hot metal strainer.

image

For the second batch, I opted to fry them since it's much easier. My husband loved the crispiness. I like the steamed ones much better.

image

It's a good viand for rice.

For its dip, just mix 1/4 cup of soy sauce, squeeze half a lemon into it and add some red chilli.

It really tastes good. You should try it. Steamed and fried.

Til our next food trip!
Xoxo,

-romeskie
image

image

Sort:  

Tasty dumplings! Upvoted!

Thank you. :-)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68403.29
ETH 3749.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66