Coconut Cream Pie ~ Low Carb and PaleosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago (edited)

I often eat pie...even for breakfast at 10:30 am, after I have fasted for 14 hours.

This particular pie is a Coconut Cream Pie which I made with 4 different types of coconut, 6 egg yolks  a wee bit of honey and some maple syrup. Yes, you can make a whole pie, that tastes like a traditional coconut cream pie, almost entirely out of coconut.

For this recipe, the tools you will need are:

  • a small sauce pan;
  • a medium size mixing bowl;
  • a fine mesh strainer to sift the flour;
  • a medium sauce pan;
  • a large spoon;
  • a pie dish or plate that's 14 inches in circumference;
  • a stand mixer;
  • a frying pan;
  • and a blender.

The ingredients you will need are:

The crust:

  • 2 cups of coconut flour;
  • 1 cup of coconut oil + 1 tsp, melted;
  • 4 eggs;
  • 6 tbsp of honey;
  •  and 1/2 tsp of pink Himalayan salt. 

The coconut filling:

  • 141 grams of pure creamed coconut;
  • 2 cups of coconut milk;
  • 3/4 cups of maple syrup;
  • 1/4 tsp of pink Himalayan salt;
  • 6 egg yolks;
  • 1 tbsp of vanilla extract;
  • and 2 cups + 1/4 cup of unsweetened medium shred desiccated coconut.

The coconut whip cream:

  • 1 400 ml or 14 fl/oz can of coconut cream;
  •  and 2 tbsp of maple syrup.

The garnish:

  • 1/4 cup of toasted coconut made from unsweetened medium shred desiccated coconut.

The Directions:

  • Grease a pie plate or dish with a tsp of melted coconut oil.

  • Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.
  • Sift the coconut flour over a medium size mixing bowl.

This is what the flour should look like once it is sifted:

  • Melt the coconut oil over medium heat on a stove top.

  • In a blender, blend the eggs, coconut oil, honey,  and salt. 

  • Add this mixture to the mixing bowl with the coconut flour and blend well. The dough will be thick but still moist.

  • Press this mixture into the pie dish or plate making sure to push it up the sides. It will be the pie crust.

  • Bake at 400 degrees F, for 12 minutes. Remove from the oven, when the crust is golden brown.

Let the crust cool for 30 minutes.

  • Melt the pure creamed coconut in a medium sauce pan, over low heat. Be careful to stir it constantly because it can burn quickly. 

This is what the creamed coconut looks like when it is melted:

  • Blend the egg yolks, coconut milk, maple syrup, salt and vanilla extract in a blender.

  • Add it to the pot with the melted creamed coconut and bring the entire mixture to a gentle boil while you stir it constantly.

  • The mixture will thicken and start to solidify. Remove it from the heat and stir in 2 cups of shredded coconut.

  • Add this filling to the pie shell and let cool for 1 hour in the refrigerator.

  • While the pie cools, make the coconut whip cream and toast the coconut to be used for garnishing.

The recipe to make the whipped cream can be found here:

https://steemit.com/food/@rebeccaryan/paelo-friendly-high-fat-vegan-whip-cream

  • Toast the coconut over low heat in a frying pan. It should take about 3 minutes and will require constant stirring so that it doesn't burn.

  • Put the whip cream on top of the pie filling and sprinkle the top with toasted coconut.

Healthy pie for breakfast. There is nothing better.

This one is high fat, low carb, grain-free, nut-free and dairy-free and it's made almost entirely out of different forms of coconut.

Enjoy!

I welcome your comments and invite you to follow me on my journey.

~ Rebecca Ryan

Sort:  

hmmm pie for breakfast...she must have inherited that from me...sadly I have been watching Rebecca eat this at work and it is the one thing she has not offered me a bite of...it must taste exceptionally good. (Rebecca's mom)

Beautiful food post!

Thank you @gringalicious, your comment means a lot to me.

I think I need to start eating pie at breakfast too!

I think it's a fantastic habit. I highly recommend it @opheliafu!

mmm I do miss delicious baked treats. Chinese style just isn't the same as back home.

I'm sorry @solarguy, it's hardly fair.
Flours must be different and I would guess, based on dumplings, that the texture preferences of the general population are different too.
Is that correct?

Yea, I think its a preference thing. It's not bad, just different. North Americans like sweeter for starters. lol
There is an American owned bakery here that imports all the ingredients and they do make a pretty good grandma's style apple pie and chocolate chip cookies. But its a but of a mission for me to get there so don't go often and its more pricey.

I actually got a cake delivered right to my home for new years from one of my PT gigs. The texture was different. I might throw those pics in my next post.

find me on facebook or steem.chat

Yes, we are sugar junkies in North America... I typically like to use maple syrup or honey as opposed to white refined sugar and I try to use it as sparingly as I can.
I'd love to read about the cake and the delivery right to your door. I don't imagine that it is, as easy as it sounds.

Will it taste better when fasted??

Absolutely! lol

But but anything will do after fasting ;)

Pretty much sums it up nicely!

LOL! I've been called a lot of things in my life @englishtchrivy, but never a Paleo Master! Thanks. I like it!

@rebeccaryan so far only you and @kiwideb are posting about Paleo here... unless am missing out that much from being absent for days :)

Wow, that looks amazing.
Pie in NZ tends to refer to a meat pie. That's one thing I haven't really found a suitable paleo replacement for. :-(

Congratulations! Your post has been nominated by the Paleo-Trail discussion group to the Steemtrail voting group. They will be considering your post for their group vote.

Paleo Trail is trying to encourage great content creation on Steemit by building a community of paleo diet writers. On the Paleo-Trail discussion group, Paleo dieters can meet other writers, get feedback on their work, and help others improve their skills.

Thanks for using the #paleo tag and please join us for discussion and lots of great information, stories and support.
(Voted and resteemed)

Thank you for letting me know about the nomination @baerdric!
I really appreciate it. :)

I guess I can use see salt because I don't have pink Himalaian salt... is it really pink in the Himalayan? why?

Sea salt or regular salt will work. Pink Himalayan salt is really pink. Allegedly, this is because of how it was formed billion(s) of years ago and then has been protected within the mountain range. It's suppose to contain all kinds of trace minerals.

steemit thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63834.78
ETH 2627.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78