Brambleberry Strawberry Rhubarb ShortcakesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Earlier in the week, I visited Brambleberry Farm which is located just outside of Wooler, Ontario Canada. It's a "You Pick" berry farm and I was able to acquire some gorgeous strawberries and "German-Red" rhubarb with the help of the farm's owner, Kerry Copestake.

I'd never tried my hand at making a compote or shortcake before.

Once back in my kitchen, I set-out to develop my own recipes for a strawberry rhubarb shortcake which is made without any refined sugar or wheat.

This is a fantastic little Summer-time dessert that really lets the flavours of the fresh strawberries and rhubarb shine through.

This dessert is constructed in 3 parts. First, you need to make the compote so that the flavours contained within it, have a chance to meld together.

Here's the recipe for that part: https://steemit.com/food/@rebeccaryan/strawberry-rhubarb-compote

Next, you need to make the shortcake itself and here's the recipe for that component: https://steemit.com/food/@rebeccaryan/a-hybrid-of-the-baking-world-shortcake-crossed-with-ladyfingers

Lastly, we need to make the coconut whipped cream that is used in between the layers of compote and shortcake as well as the final topping.

The ingredients needed for this are:

  1. a 400 ml can of high-fat coconut milk
  2. and 2 tbsp of vanilla infused agave nectar (or 2 tbsp of honey or maple syrup with a splash of vanilla extract).

Directions:

    

  • Gather the ingredients.

Using the correct ingredients in the correct form is the secret to making a whipped cream from a can of coconut milk. It will only work properly if you select the highest fat coconut milk you can find. Try to get as close to 20% fat or higher if you can. The other critical factor is that this milk must be well-chilled in your refrigerator. I would recommend that you let the milk chill for at least 24-hours before you attempt to make whipped cream out of it.

    

  • Add all the solid contents of the well chilled can of coconut milk to the mixing bowl of a stand mixer.
  • Add 2 tbsp of vanilla infused agave syrup.
  • Blend on medium high speed until a smooth consistency is achieved (about 2 minutes).

Once you have the whipped cream made you can build a tower of strawberry rhubarb compote, shortcake and cream.

  • Cut one of the shortcakes in half so that you have an equally proportioned top and bottom piece. 
  • Place the bottom half in a single serving dessert dish.

  

  • Cover the bottom cake with a generous dollop of compote.
  • Add whipped cream as the next layer and repeat the layering process one more time.
  • I used a single cut strawberry on top with a little bit of whipped cream in the  centre and I dusted this with a little bit of ground cinnamon for a finished presentation look before I served it at my table.

Enjoy a taste of Summer!

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey. There's always room for one more at my table. 

~ Rebeccca Ryan ;)


Sort:  

This looks so delicious.. I would love to try this. Even when I saw this first, water came out of my mouth..and it's true.

LOL! I wish we could instantly share food.
You can make this dessert with any berry. Strawberries and rhubarb just happen to be in season where I live. So, what I have showed is seasonal to the region in Canada where I am from.

I just wanna eat this 😄 it's strawberries ... And told u cant wait to eat... this kind of yummy stuff makes me hungry... yes I'm a foodie person... Hahaha...😂

Very pleasing to the eyes, I'm sure it tastes just the same. I wonder what a Brambleberry tastes like

Hahaha @jeffjagoe! It tastes like a lot of f-ing hard work for 4 days LMAO!
I'm glad to be done with strawberries and rhubarb...

@rebeccaryan
I know. There are just so many hours in a day. You give us the very best. Replies will come when you have some time. Ha
You have been showing us what and how. So good.
Maybe that is why @knarly327 hangs around. lol
Just kidding.

Francis

Hi Francis!
Yes, I'm going to catch up on replies now.
I've had and exceptionally busy last 4 days and I have to admit that I am happy to be at the end of my strawberry rhubarb expose. LOL!
@knarly327 hangs around because his level of crazy and my level of crazy are very similar. He is actually a somewhat finicky eater so it is not through his taste buds that I won his heart...more through my wicked sense of humour and how I think in my opinion. ;D

@rebeccaryan
Thank you
I am going to say that @knarly327 is a good guy. One that people like.
Just thinking that would be what you expect in a man and husband.

I leave here in about 42 hours, give or take. When I get over to my mountain.
I'll look over to the North looking for you guys. Ha Not even.

Francis

@rebeccaryan
I am always in catchup to you. You are just too good.
The leaving preps are rolling along just fine. All system are go. Ha
I will leave one computer on for in the morning. Till 7-9 am.
Three are on most of the time. 4-5 screens too.

Watch the markets. If the US Dollar and the stock market start a slow descend
That will be good for the cyrpto's. jmho

Francis

very delicious ..i love strawberries .

Alright , you're good at making me feel hungry :D thanks for the share

Thanks for commenting @journeyoflife! I wish I could just easily give you a piece. :)

I will try to live until then :D

Oh my god, your recipes are making me so hungry! How was it??

Thanks for commenting @magick323! It was soooo worth all the work. LOL!

Good to hear. It really does look like a lot of work. You're an artisté! :-)

Why "thank you" @magick323. That's a huge compliment coming from another artiste. ;)

I just ate and now i'm hungry for desert.

those shortcakes look absolutlely dreamy, I'm getting up right now to see if I can make them. as always, your recipes really are inspiring

Thanks so much! That's so kind of you to say. :)

"You Pick" berry farm sound slike heaven to me! Another amazing sweet treat! One more day of our 3-day coconut fast. Getting really hungry now!

Wow this looks mouthwatering!!! Thank you for this delicious recipe ♥♥♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87