Strawberry Rhubarb Compote.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Rhubarb is in season, where I live and we are just coming to the end of its harvest! This is a tangy, mouth puckering herbaceous perennial that's considered more of a vegetable than a fruit. When it's cooked down and is sweetened, it acts more like a fruit. As such, rhubarb finds its way into pie filling, squares, dessert toppings and jams.

Here's what the plant looks like when it is growing:

  

There are 2 things that are important to remember about rhubarb:

  1. The leaves are poisonous. It's only the stalks that are edible;
  2. and it is full of biologically components that are natural laxatives. 

With the later, you may need to skip that second serving of rhubarb crumble, even though it's incredibly delicious and will call you by name from your refrigerator late at night. Proceed with caution is the only advise I can responsibly give you. ;)

Today I learned that rhubarb is also a good source of calcium and vitamin K.

It's an interesting vegetable and I like to make Strawberry Rhubarb Compote with it. 

A compote, by definition is a mixture of pieces of fruit that have been cooked down in a sweet syrup, sometimes with spices.

Here's the ingredients:

  • 7 cups of clean rhubarb stalks that have been chopped into small pieces;
  • 7 cups of clean strawberries with their leaves removed and that have been chopped into small pieces;
  • 1 cup of fresh orange juice, (approximately 2 medium size oranges will produce a cup of juice);
  • 1 cup of raw bee honey;
  • 2 tbsp of fresh ginger root, minced into small pieces;
  • and 1/2 cup of chia seeds.

Directions:

  • Clean and chop the rhubarb and strawberries.

  • Peel, cut and mince the fresh ginger root.

  

  • Squeeze fresh orange juice from 2 medium size oranges.

  

  • Measure the raw bee honey. (Start with 1/2 a cup and taste as you go. I needed to use 1 cup to get the sweetness level correct with the variety of rhubarb and strawberries that I used. If your rhubarb or strawberries are sweeter varieties than you won't require a full cup of honey. Adjust to match your preference by taste.)

  • Add the orange juice, rhubarb and ginger root to a medium size pot. Cook for approximately 15 minutes over a medium heat or flame. As the rhubarb cooks it will soften and resemble a thick, stringy sauce.
  • At the 15 minute mark, add the strawberries and cook another 5-7 minutes until most of the berries have also cooked down and lost their original shape.
  • Turn the heat off and stir in the bee honey.

  

  • Add a 1/2 cup of chia seeds and stir them into the compote to mix them in thoroughly. The chia seeds will thicken the compote into a jam-like consistency which makes it very versatile. Use it as a filling for pies, tarts, and crumbles. Or as a dessert topping. It also freezes well and can be used independently as a jam.

      

 

I welcome your comments and invite you to follow me on my journey.

~ Rebecca Ryan





Sort:  

Send me some to NJ. Lol

If it were only that easy @cryptolife, I would for sure. LOL!
Thanks for commenting. I have followed you.

This comment has received a 3.97 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @cryptolife1.

@rebeccaryan
Rhubarb. What shall we say? Nothing. @Rebeccaryan has already said it all. Ha
I am familiar with Rhubarb. Not so much in recent years though. The stems remind me some of celery. But, it is not celery at all. lol
One way the "old timers", oops am I allowed to say that? Ha
The Rhubarb was planted in a steel tub with the bottom out of it. To keep it from spreading throughout the garden.
Your list of ingredients and direction for preparing is superb. Nothing left out
Some outside of Steemit think that Steem Dollars are created from nothing.
Nothing could be farther from the truth.
Lots of work has gone into the Steem Dollars that exists today. And lots of work will be added for each new Steem Dollar available for trade in the future.
@rebeccaryan, with her photos and words of preparation for the
Strawberry Rhubarb Compote is proof enough of all the work.
Step by step, photos of all equipment and tools needed to get the finished product.
I would love to taste your Strawberry Rhubarb Compote. It has be delicious.

Thank you for showing us how to make this dish. Curiosity alone will encourage many to try this. It will be new to many. To me as well.

Francis

Thanks so much for this thoughtful comment @Francis! You are absolutely correct every sentence and photo, gets verified as one big transaction, as does any comment, reply or upvote. So, a lot of building of the block chain occurred with one idea...to share a recipe, using a herb that grows prolifically.
I do hope others will give the recipe a whirl. :)

What a lovely recipe, thank you so much! I can imagine that this compote would be great in a baked crumble ♥

Exactly @isshappy! This compote makes a great addition to many things. As of late, we've been eating over top of sliced bananas.

That's one of my favourite deserts. Looks good.

Thanks @solarguy! Your trip to Canada must be coming up soon...When will you arrive?

Oh it feels like not soon enough. I had ticket for july 10th but cancelled to renew my passport before i leave. It expires in August. I need to do it in China so the Visa can be replaced.

The visa system in China is changing at the end of july so if i dont renew first it will be like starting all over, id have to leave china.

Sooo.. Im aiming for August or last week of july.

Im in dire need of trip home. Ive only spent 5 weeks in Canada in 5 years. Lol

Wow, I can see how delicate that could be for you! Well, keep me posted because may be I can line things up so that I can meet you somewhere, once you are in Ontario. :)

Thank you for the great article! This post has been featured in this week's issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter!

This is absolutely fantastic @kiaranntonoviche! I have upvoted and followed.
Thank you for including a piece from me and letting me know about it. :)

Yum!

It was yummy @deanlogic! Thanks for commenting.
I have followed you. Welcome.

I'll try your recipe.

You'll have to let me know if you do @how2steemit! I'd love to know how yours turns out. :)

That sauce looks amazing. I will have to try it, I still have Rhubarb to pick yet and it is Strawberry season. Nice recipe.

Thanks @sunscape! It is very versatile. I do hope you make some. :)

Wow that looks delicious! Save me a slice haha :D

I would love to. Oh, if it were only that easy. ;)

I love rhubarb... and strawberries... they represent the epitome of "summer" for me, growing up in Denmark.

Thanks for sharing-- looks delish!

Thanks so much for commenting @denmarkguy! Great to hear from you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58