How to make homemade vegetable soup from scratch.

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Soup is not my favourite food but when it gets cold even I crave some.
I like simple vegetable homemade soups.
I made one like that yesterday.

I never go with exact recipes and I always improvise.
Actually I do not like to cook at all but that’s mostly due to all that cleaning & washing up that follows.

So, I scooped up some vegetables I’ve already had at home: zucchini, cabbage, pepper, tomatoes, onion, garlic, potato, celery, squash. Most of those came from my own garden.
(Normally I always use some carrots when make this soup but found out this time didn’t have any. 😞 )
Basically, you can use any veggies you like & have.
I chop it all up in smaller pieces – it tastes better but also it shortens cooking time, too (which takes abound 15 -20 minutes as maximum).

First I start with frying onions (already chopped up) in a very small amount of oil (I use olive oil, but any cooking oil can do) on medium heat. After a few minutes, just before it starts getting brownish, I add garlic and stir it together for another couple of minutes, then continue with adding other vegetables.

In this case first I added peppers and cabbage, than potatoes, squash, celery and salt to taste. After each vegetable adding I normally stir-fry all for 2-3 minutes, then add new one and continue with the same procedure & no any water added whatsoever. As last I add zucchini. They are very watery, that’s why I choose them to be last on the list. As soon as they start to cook they quickly lose all water and from that point on I put lid on and leave it all to cook on moderate flame for another five minutes or so.


When it’s all cooked and soft I blend it all up adding some water, just enough to desired consistency then put it back to flame to boil for another 2-3 minutes and that’s it.

For better taste you can always add spices you like, during cooking or when it’s already done. Normally I always add teaspoon of turmeric or spice it up with cayenne pepper. Those two are my favourites, but they are not to everyone’s taste. Go with whatever you like and find tasty.

Bon appétit.

Photos by me.

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Right, soup are the best when weather are very cold. Looks tasty . Thanks for share. Follow and upvoted. Cheers

Thanks. Followed you back. :-)

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $27.95 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 13 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you @steemitrecipes. Nice surprise as I was not expecting that, at all. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60638.91
ETH 2449.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52