How to make baked potatoes fast way and without baking. 😊

in #food8 years ago (edited)

I personally don't know anyone who doesn't like baked potatoes or french fries.

I love both therefore make something in between those two, and here I'll show how.
It's very quick and very easy.

I have a slight problem with french fries 🍟 as they actually have to be deep fried in lots of oil so they absorb a lot of it, it might not be that healthy after all... but stepping into the red zone once in a while is still ok, even if it's not.

Problem that I have with baked potatoes is that baking normally takes quite long time.

So I came up with shorter & quicker way of two versions and it takes me just about 15 minutes of cooking time.
Also, this is a sort of healthier version as well, as when it comes to oil just one or two tablespoons of oil is all that it requires.


So, after pealing potatoes I cook them in salted water. Normally I cook them until they're almost done, then pour out water and leave them in the same, still hot, pan with a lid open so potatoes could cool down and let remain water evaporate: that makes them more tasty later on.

After they cool a bit (at least half way or more) I put them into a hot frying pan (previously heated with a little bit of oil!).
To make potatoes taste better I sprinkle them sometimes with a bit of vegetable powder and some fresh rosemary leaves (as shown on photos).

It takes only a few more minutes of tossing them around in the pan (with or without lid on) until they are ready and that's all.

Crispy, crunchy & very, very tasty.

Enjoy &
Bon Appetit
!

Sort:  

Hi, Thank you. I am a great fan of getting through the preparation and cooking bit quickly so that I can transition to the eating component. Question: I do not recognise the ingredient "vegetable powder". Is there another name?

Vegetable powder, that i'm thinking of, is just dehydrated veggies, powdered and packaged. You might find it in the dry soup mix section of your local shop near the "Knorr" chicken broth.

As @solarguy said it's normally Knorr dehydrated veggies, except I used another brand this time. Thank you for stopping by @johnrt.

I've seen that stuff. Never given it much thought. Next time I am at the store, at the very least I'll find out what it costs.

Looks delicious. Though I have made baked potatoes before and baking them looks a lot easier than this method.

I just wrap them in tinfoil (sometimes) and toss em in the oven. Easy.

I am going to try your recipe cause it looks so good a I love potatoes.
Thanks for sharing

Thank you for stopping by @solarguy. I too used to bake things wrapped up in tinfoil as well until I become aware of aluminium health danger when had to face some of my own health issues - you can check about it here. Not that I'm saying that Knorr (or any other brand) Instant Vegetable Mix is very healthy to use, but sometimes I just crave it all. 😉

They look awesome. Going to give them a try this week. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you @michaelsteemit. Enjoy. 😊

I made the potatoes over the weekend The family loved them. I sautéed some sweet onions with them.

That's just brilliant! Thank you for your feedback! 💛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60582.68
ETH 2607.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55