Yummy Apple Pie Recipe made from scratch

in #food7 years ago

Because nothing compares to the taste and flavour of a home backed pie, here's my take on this yummy desert.

IMG_1886.JPG

INGREDIENTS

For the dough:

250 gr butter
350 gr all purpose flour or mixed with whole wheat flour (I used a mix, that's why my dough is darker than a usual white flour one)
70 ml water
20 ml lemon juice or 1 tbsp vinegar
a pinch of salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
extra flour for rolling

For the apple filling
1,5-2kg of apples (whatever type you have at hand)
50-100 gr sugar (you can put less or more, depending on your taste, I prefer it less sweet so I just sprinkle some sugar)
cinnamon powder

How to do this

Making the dough

In a large bowl mix the butter cut in small pieces with the rest of the ingredients until they form a non-sticky, elastic dough. If it's too dry add a bit of water until it gets just perfect. If on the other hand you feel it's too soft, add some more flour.

I tend to improvise around the recipe and play with the ingredients until it feels right. So feel free to adapt, adjust and play with it until you are happy with the result.

Split the dough in 2: one ball should be aprox. 3/4, and the other 1/4. Wrap it in cling film and let it rest in the fridge for a few minutes until you work on the apples.

Something like this, don't stress about having exactly the right sizes, you can adjust later.

IMG_1866.JPG

You can use a robot if you have one and prefer to not get your hands dirty, but I love playing with dough so I do this old school. :)

Make the apple filling

Before you start working on the apples, preheat your oven on medium heat. I don't have a fancy oven so I can't tell you precise temperatures.

Wash, peel, core and cut apples in slices, wedges like.

Throw them in a steel skillet on medium heat together with the sugar and cinnamon. Mix gently from time to time and let them simmer until soft but not mushy.

When you feel they're ready, transfer into a strainer for a minute or two to remove the excess liquid.

IMG_1883.JPG

Back to the dough

Now while the apples are gently simmering and filling your kitchen with yummy flavours, take the dough out of the fridge.

Put a baking paper sheet on the table or you can simply sprinkle some flour instead directly on the table, place the bigger ball in the centre and start rolling the dough until it gets about the size of your baking tin.

If you don't have a round one like mine, no worries. Use whatever you have at hand and adjust.

Transfer the dough on the tin or tray, and gently push with your fingers to make it sit nice and comfy and remove the excess dough from around the edges.

IMG_1879.JPG

This is how it looks like when ready for pre-cooking.

IMG_1880.JPG

Now, take a fork and gently make small holes in it to prevent the air transform it into a balloon in the oven.

IMG_1881.JPG

For the same reason, you can also place a few beans or chickpeas on top to keep it down.

IMG_1882.JPG

Now put in the oven for 5-10 minutes depending on how hot your oven is. Mine tends to get crazy so I have to be very careful not to burn my food.

During this time, roll the rest of the dough on the table. When it gets to the size you need and thin enough, cut it into slices, as wide or narrow as you like.

When the time is up take the tray out of the oven, gently remove the chickpeas and pour the apple filling. Even them out with a spoon, add some more cinnamon or sugar if you want.

IMG_1884.JPG

Then cover with the slices of dough, arranging them as you like. Don't worry if some slices brake, you can easily stitch them back. :)

This is how I did it and how it looks like just before placing it in the oven.

IMG_1885.JPG

And this is 30' later, when it's ready.

IMG_1886.JPG

I repeat, I don't know in how long your oven will do the job, it could take less or more time, just check it out and remove it when it looks ready.

Enjoy it and bon appetit!


Hi, I'm Raluca. I've studied communication and psychology, and I'm currently working as a copywriter. You can find me mainly on my blog at BeingRaluca where I write about communication, relationships, listening, sexuality and many more. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @raluca.

Raluca


Sort:  

Wow! Looks amazing. I am interested in life in your region and I have followed you. Hope you will follow me too! I live in Asia and is new to Steemit!

Thanks! :) Welcome to Steemit, there are a lot of interesting people from different cultures all over the world here, you're in for a treat ;)

i agree that nothing compares to homemade and this looks amazing..

thanks, hope this inspires more people to home cook more often :)

Aww thanks, now I'm craving apple pie :D

You're welcome, try it out :)

I love me some apple pies. Thank you for the recipe.

You're welcome, let me know how it went if you try the recipe :)

Wow, looks yummy!
Please follow below link and do vote for my friend to help in WIN a pixel art competition. His entry is with the name of @infinitor , thanks in advance!
https://steemit.com/art/@jonny-clearwater/pixel-art-weekly-finalists-you-pick-the-winner

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64187.99
ETH 2761.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73