Hemp Seed Calendula Pancakes! (recipe included)

in #food7 years ago


DSCN3437.JPG

Homemade wild picked blackberry syrup on top of organic, hand milled whole wheat, calendula, and hemp seed pancakes.

My pancakes are never the same, I do not follow a recipe, I just throw them together and try to add something different to them each time. Our chickens are not laying yet but we are blessed to have friends who happily share their farm fresh eggs and raw goat milk that I used in these pancakes. I added fresh picked petals of a large calendula from my garden and some hemp seeds.

DSCN3430.JPG

I had not intended on typing up the recipe then figured it would be a good idea, so keep in mind, these ingredients are only approximate as it is rare I ever measure, I just go by sight and feel:

  • 1 to 1.5 cups fresh ground organic whole white wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup hemp hearts
  • 1/4 cup calendula petals
  • 1.5 Tbls baking powder
  • pinch of Redmond Real or Himalayan Pink salt
  • 1/2 cup milk - I used raw goat milk
  • 1 Tbls organic vinegar - I used my own homemade Raisin Vinegar - aside from giving the pancakes an added health boost, this also helps make them more fluffy
  • 1 farm fresh egg
  • 1 tsp or so of vanilla extract - I used my home homemade Vanilla

DSCN3428.JPG


Mix all ingredients together in a glass bowl and allow to sit for about 15 minutes until bubbly. Cook on medium heat, preferably on a cast iron griddle. Once the pancake is bubbly on top, flip to cook other side.

DSCN3435.JPG

Hope you all have a wonderful Monday! ~Heidi

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

Wow I never would have thought of putting flowers in pancakes! Thank you for the recipe! Love and prayers❤

Thank you Tee! Did your package arrive yet? I threw in an extra special hand made gift as a thank you :)

Yes I did! What a blessing! I am in love with my skirts❤

And I need breakfast like now! haha Btw I dreamt I met you and your husband on a beautiful fair out in a prairie.... :)

That sounds wonderful! I would love to meet you in person, especially in a setting like that! :D

Yes it would! It was so pleasant as the stands were on the side of a prairie road and everyone was walking and stopping at the stands! You had honey, dried herbs and soaps too!

A dish like this could be found in some super-hip, overpriced restaurant where they serve the food on locally-carved wooden bowls or in a miniature bonsai garden. But this is why I love homestead food--we get the chance to make far healthier, far better food than any restaurant, and it's from our own kitchens and gardens! So lovely.

Absolutely! <3 Sorry I have been a bit MIA lately, good grief, just when I think things are going to slow down, the opposite happens! I hope to catch up on your posts soon!

Haha, isn't that how the summer always goes? Please, please, no worries. We are up to our ears in tasks and to-do lists right now as well.

Mmmm look delish! I share you no recipe style. Made a similar creation, but I don't get hempseed where I am these days... but a little dried coconut with the local millet flours as an alternative and you have some lovely pancakes for dessert or breakfast. Your farm fresh eggs and milk also have my nose against the glass. mouth watering post @raincountry, well done!

These flowery pancakes look amazing! And thanks for the link to the raisin vinegar. Never heard of it! Looks like a cool fermenting experiment.

Yum, this looks wonderful @raincountry. I bet that blackberry syrup is the Bomb as well. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44