How to Make Vanilla Extract

in #howto7 years ago (edited)

Above is a video I did this past fall showing how to make vanilla extract, however, I was also experimenting by using a mix of spiced rum and non-gmo, food grade glycerin. The update is, it turned out AMAZING and I will do it that way from now on.

Vanilla extract is very simple to make. The hardest part really, is finding a good price on vanilla beans. I am grateful I stocked up while the price was lower than it is now. I would share the ones I had purchased, but even though I had bought several different brands from a couple of different places, none of them are available any longer. I am guessing you can find some at a health food store if you have one near you but if you are like us and live in a small, remote town, I suggest you check out Amazon or even eBay to see what you can find. When you do find them, I recommend that if you can shell out what it takes, buy in bulk of at least 1/4 pound or more. Then store them in a vacuum sealed mason jar. I demonstrate how I do this in the video with a brake bleeder and Food Saver jar sealers at the 10:12 minute mark.

DSCN2677.JPG

Now on to making the vanilla. I like to use 8 oz swing top bottles. I add 3-5 vanilla beans cut in half length wise and also cross wise to each bottle. What solvent you choose to use is up to you but I found the most amazing flavor I got was from how I did it in the video and that is half Non-GMO food grade glycerin and half Spiced Rum. For each 8 oz bottle this would be 4 oz or one half cup of each. Add these directly to the bottle, put the cap on, then shake to mix. Other solvent options would be just plain vodka or even bourbon.

You will want to write the date on the bottle lid or label so you can keep track of the time it has been brewing. It will need to sit in a dark place for 8 weeks. Since I always keep batches going and cycle through them, I never worry about the time anymore because it takes me a couple of months just to go through one bottle. However, I keep them marked so I know which one to use next.

If you can remember to do so, it can be helpful to take the bottle out at least once a week and shake it, but I rarely think to do this myself and it still turns out great.

photo showing the difference in color between the vodka and the rum/glyercin based extracts

Snapshot 1 (6-25-2017 7-46 AM).png

If you haven't started making your own vanilla extract yet, you simply must, you will never go back to store bought. If you have already but have not tried the glycerin-spiced rum combo, or even just spiced rum, again, you simply must! You will surely never go back to store bought once you try that! :D

Hope you enjoyed this post and learned something new! Thanks for your time and have a great day!

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

I used your recipe and it tastes wonderful! I had to make more because my daughters split what I had lol! Thank you Heidi❤

It is heavenly, isn't it? Thank you Tee!

Your welcome😊

great to know-I will do this! thanks Heidi

You are so very welcome!

Love the video. I have never made vanilla-extract before but am going to try making it now.

Nice times posting your pliss follow @ musliadi

I usually use food grade cane alcohol for mine. I am curious about trying the rum/glycerin base one.

Happy Sunday and thanks as always for teaching us so much!

You are welcome and thank you! Hope you have a lovely day!

Love my vanilla! Have you figured out a way to make vanilla paste yet? Resteemit! Happy to see your posting today!

I have not done that yet wee, but I was just thinking of taking those expended beans and doing something with them rather than just toss them.

The pods or the seeds? I can see crushing the seeds into a paste... Something to play with I am thinking..

I wonder if you dehydrate the beans/seeds and then ground them up, would they make a good vanilla powder?

I have been thinking this same thing, or even a paste. I really need to give it a try next time I use up a batch

My taste buds are tickled - definitely going to try this.

I am sure you will be delighted with the flavor - tempting to want to drink it straight from the bottle! haha

Vanilla is my best flavour. Many thanks for detailing its production.

You are so very welcome!

Will have to try this. Thanks!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50