Fermenting Vegetables and More!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

In the above video I demonstrate my method of fermenting vegetables, in this case, red cabbage, carrots and onions, with spices.

I came up with this method after playing around with my own fermentation starter which was one of my very first posts here:
https://steemit.com/fermentation/@raincountry/make-your-own-fermentation-starter

First fermented veggies I ever started making about 15 or 20 years ago was kimchi. I had never had kimchi before and decided the best way to try it was just to learn how to make it myself. I did it the traditional way with salt brine and letting it sit in a cool area for 10-14 days. Most of the time, it was wonderful, but every now and then I would have a batch failure where it would rot rather than ferment and it killed me when I had to dump those jars.

Years later I got into making mead (AKA Honey Wine) and this was where I first learned about the ginger bug and that was what I used to make my mead. I made many different flavors from pineapple to pumpkin, blackberry to orange spice.

raspberry mead

raspberry mead1.jpg

After awhile, I began to experiment with making fermentation starters from fruits like raisins, strawberries, and peaches, and was pleasantly surprised at the results

fermentation starters

bread yeasts.jpg

I then got the idea to experiment further, using these starters for making my kimchi in place of the brine method and I immediately fell in love with this way of fermenting. Since then, I have never had to throw out a batch of kimchi that did not properly ferment.

kimchi made with my own starter

DSCN1907.JPG

And let us not forget being able to use it to make tasty, natural fruit sodas!

grape soda.JPG

Hope you enjoyed this post and decide to give it a try! Happy fermenting!

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountrySign.JPG

Sort:  

Raspberry mead! <3 .
ok you got me. I am going to have to do this

This is good stuff! I love fermenting as well! I like to add a chili and garlic paste I make to my jars for a little kick haha
Your starters look amazing!🍍🍓🍇

Chili and garlic paste?! That sounds wonderful! Thank you!

You are welcome! Enjoy your day!

Very interesting!! I still ferment the old fashioned way with salt brine and crocks but I might give this a go sometime. I have followed you. Thanks for the post!

Thank you Alice! I am following you now as well, looks like you have some great content :D

good stuff as usual and sharing with my fæcebook chums that are reluctant to come over here and play 😉

Haha! Thank you tommy!

Hi Rain Country! The format here on Steemit really suits you and your teaching method. I think it's a good fit for you:). I'm happily fermenting eveything these days -thank you!

Thank you! I am loving it here and the freedom it provides for me to express myself in more ways than just video! :D

Congratulations @raincountry! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am going start a small jar of starter and try fermenting. Thank you Heidi❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39