Fermenting Nasturtium Leaves and Flowers (Recipe)

in #food7 years ago

DSCN3406.JPG

Some of you may have seen my post yesterday about my little experiment fermenting nasturtiums. I promised to share the recipe when it was done so here it is.

Here is what you will need:

  • Enough Nasturtium flowers and leaves to pack a quart jar tight
  • 1/4 cup or more chopped green onion
  • 1 Tbls or more chopped raw ginger (I did not add it to this batch but would have had I had it on hand)
  • Garlic: 1 Tbls each dried/sliced and granulated, or several cloves raw, chopped
  • 1 Anaheim or pepper of choice, chopped
  • 1-2 Tbls Red Pepper Flakes
  • 1/2-1 tsp Redmond Real or Himalayan Pink Salt
  • 1/4 cup fermentation starter - you can see my how-to video here but I will also be putting up a step by step blog post in a day or two if you want to wait for that.
  • filtered rain, well, or spring water

You can either mix all ingredients in a bowl first or do what I do and that is layering it directly into the jar, adding a bit of each to each layer until the jar is packed tight.

Then pour in your 1/4 cup of fermentation starter and top off with your good filtered water. Put a tight lid on and shake to mix. Loosen lid a bit and set in a warm place to ferment for 3 days. Check daily to see how it is doing and to release gasses.

DSCN3351.JPG

The photo above is how it looked right after packing and adding the liquids.

Here is how it looked today, three days later:

DSCN3400.JPG

The taste and texture ended up being very much like kimchi but slightly different. Very good and certainly worth giving a try for just another great thing to use those wonderful, healthy nasturtiums for!

DSCN3408.JPG

Hope you enjoyed this and Happy Fermenting! ~ Heidi

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

Looks yummy and very colorful! Fermented foods are so beneficial. This looks like it would be delicious on top of a salad or as a side dish.

Never heard of Nasturtium flowers. They look beautiful and I'm sure they taste great when home fermented. Great share!

Nasturtiums have a bit of a radish taste, that is why I thought they would taste good fermented. They have some great medicinal properties too that I will be sharing in the near future :D

Wow! looks so delicious, i'm following you and upvoted you too

I had to read "Enough Nasturtium flowers and leaves to pack a quart jar tight " several times I some how mixed the last three words up and nearly asked where does one find a quart tight jar at ? :P wow that looks like some kind of new chutney or relish thanks for sharing Rain will resteem :D

Yes that totally looks like kimchi! Yum!

I just love the pics you post. but it always makes me so hungry lol.

It's a nasturtium Kim-Chee of sorts! lovely! I need to make the starter. Thanks for sharing your recipe, lovely Saturday to you and yours friend!

Heidi, your kitchen must be filled with fermenting goodness. I'm so envious. I plan to make peach vinegar using your instructions tonight. Wish me luck!

Oh that looks and sounds great. I'm sure the bacteria also enjoy living in thiat beautiful jar !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51