How to Make 5 Healthy and Delicious Salads

in #food7 years ago

Hello everyone!

This is a pragmatically unconventional how-to article. Instead of going into tedious detail about how to make each salad, I am only providing the ingredient list and some general principles on how to prepare healthy salads. This is valuable because it allows you to eventually break free from the recipes in this article. You will be able to make delicious and, more importantly, healthy salads that cater to your preferences. Also, make sure to click on the images to see them in their highest quality.

Enjoy!



Ingredients: lamb, spinach, brussels sprouts, cherry tomatoes, red onion, pecans, red wine vinegar, olive oil, black pepper, light salt

Pro-tip #1: For more variations, switch the meat in any of these recipes with your favorite protein. You can also replace any of these ingredients with your favorite nut, vinegar or vegetable to make tons of combinations.



Ingredients: steak, kale, cucumber, red bell pepper, red onion, mushrooms, chopped almonds, apple cider vinegar, olive oil, black pepper, light salt

Pro-tip #2: The oil, vinegar, salt and pepper combination is called the vinaigrette. The ratio I use is 60% olive oil and 40% vinegar. If you notice that your vinaigrette is puddling at the bottom of your salad bowl, you put too much.



Ingredients: steak, arugula, cucumbers, red bell peppers, cherry tomatoes, shaved almonds, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, pepper, light salt

Pro-tip #3: Don’t trip about the exact proportions of the ingredients in these salads. Eyeball it and it will still taste great.



Ingredients: cabbage, kale, roast beef, turkey skin, bacon, green bell peppers, cherry tomatoes, red onions, cashews, olive oil, apple cider vinegar, black pepper, light salt

Pro-tip #4: What made me good at preparing salads was making it a point to avoid making them the exact same way more than a couple of times.



Ingredients: roast beef, kale, red cabbage, radish, shredded carrots, mushroom, pistachios, red wine vinegar, olive oil, black pepper, light salt

Pro-tip #5: For more variations, add your favorite vegetable or remove your least favorite one.

Pro-tip#6: Cutting vegetables can be harder than it looks. If you are having trouble, learn how to do in on Youtube.



Parting Words

Here are some parting words of wisdom. Recipes are a reproduction of someone else’s preferences. The recipes above are a reproduction of mine. After you get the hang of a couple of the recipes above, be bold and modify it. Also, don’t be afraid to break the rules unless you are sacrificing the health benefits of the salads.

I would like to thank my coworker and friend Britney Sanchez for helping me take these photos. She took the photo in the featured image and a couple of the ones above. She also taught me how to use the photo editing software that gave these pictures their pop. Follow her great photography on Instagram @britmcnuggets. I would also like to thank James Spediacci for giving me the idea for this article and for helping me build this website.


What did you like the most about this article? Mention it in the comment section below!

Don't forget to follow me!

Sort:  

These salads are beautiful. Great summer-time food! Really, great any-time food. I will resteem this excellent post! Thank you.

Jeez that looks delicious, sorry I was so slow to follow you, I've had a lot on my plate.

I am trying to organize a community based around a desire to make deeper connections and "alternative topics", i think it'd be a good place for you, easy to make friends I'd always be down for a chat.

I won't self promo here, you can check out my profile if you are into it.

Hope you stick around at steemit.

Hi @whatamidoing,

I will definitely pay attention to your content. I so far have really enjoyed sharing my thoughts and opinions here. I can't wait to further integrated myself into this community!

For sure, it's easy to get caught up in thinking about payouts but there are so many people here worth talking to :-)

Congratulations @pursufulfillment! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53