Pizza!

in #food6 years ago

d5366ca7-d204-4734-bf4a-bb135534ca28.jpeg


A delicious pizza margherita with buffalo mozzarella on top from a restaurant near the Vatican in Rome. Delicious! I was able to eat about half.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

That was one of my favorite parts about being in Italy. The other part was gelato. Hopefully you're getting loads of that as well. :D

I've eaten gelato a time or to. Extremely smooth and creamy. I'm not sure why it's not more of thing here than ice cream. Unfortunately, I have never been to Italy to eat said gelato, so maybe one of these days I will manage to do that, if the economy doesn't blow up over their "unstable political climate."

They should just give out more gelato. It makes everything better. Except a cold. The sugar would make that worse. Other than that, you're good. I think you should go if you get a chance. The coast is nice as well. I wouldn't be mad about getting to go back. :)

Okay, so I'm getting the feeling I'm supposed to invite you in the event we ever make it over there. :)

I really like Italian food, at least the restaurant kind I get here, which, if it's anything like the Mexican food you get, isn't really Italian. So, I'd be really interested in seeing the difference, and just how much flavor and overall gastronomical goodness I've been missing out on.

I think of all the places in Europe I'd like to go, touring the southern coastal parts of Italy, Spain and Greece all appeal to me.

I probably should start a Gelato franchise or something. My wife brought home some Breyer's Gelato which I really liked, and I've had some from a place that basically only served Gelato, and that was good.

If I got my hands on it more, I'd eat it over regular ice cream any day.

The gelato was great! There is a little spot near Vatican City called Old Bridge Gelato that is fantastic.

Good to know for the next time I'm there.

That's looks pretty good. I thought it might be homemade since it doesn't have the usual 'perfectly round' shape to it. :) Then, I saw the bit about being near the Vatican in Rome. Oops, my bad. It does look very good. I had a small sized pizza today and ate the whole thing. I'm not sure I'm proud of that though. :)

What a great looking 🍕 I've never heard of buffalo mozzarella. Sounds interesting. The breads and crusts in Italy are so amazing, everything tastes so much better, probably because the ingredients don't sit on a shelve for days. My uncle's would just go in the back yard and pick a tomato or pepper, or walk to the store and pick up the evenings dinner everyday. Their refrigerator was tiny and they only had gelato in the freezer, no meat.

Yes, one gets the impression that ingredients don't spend much time in storage in Rome.
Buffalo mozzarella is made from buffalo milk. The whole thing was fantastic!

Mmm, that does look delicious!!

Sounds delicious. Haven’t try that kind of pizza.

So delecious. Am already silvating here oh. Please send my portion of the pizza down to Nigeria because this will be real good for my body.

Looks pretty tasty, the buffalo mozzarella sounds like it would add a nice kick to the pizza.

Looks so good!!! There is a restaurant in San Diego which makes pretty good pizza like that - they get their tomatoes from Italy :)

Where??? I must go!

I know there is a great gelato spot in Little Italy that has some delicious prosciutto sandwiches, but don't have the name on hand...will probably post tomorrow as I'm going there ;-)

http://pizzeriabrunosd.com/

here we go. they open at 5 pm and it is the only place my Italian friend will eat!

Looking like a good pizza

This was a different pizza place, but loved the name!

habemus.jpg

I should have asked on my other comment to you, but I'm guessing you got to see the Vatican since you were eating so close to it? Did you take a tour? If so, just what all do they allow you to do? Or maybe you have a post coming about it?

St Peter's Square is generally open all day. St Peter's Basilica is open most of the time too...you can walk around and also there is the crypt level where a lot of popes and St Peter himself are buried.
The museums are amazing too.
I will probably do a full post with pics...

Once again showing my lack of knowledge here. I guess I was specifically wondering if there are tours that you may have taken to go through the Vatican archive, the library, church offices, or maybe even the residences. The basilica, chapel and museums all sound very interesting, too.

Ah, no, we didn't. Usually those deeper tours require knowing somebody or maybe there are special tours you can sign up for somewhere.

The spots I mentioned though are INCREDIBLE and I can't recommend them enough.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64526.07
ETH 3116.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55