The Most Famous Mauritian Street Food : DHOLL PURI

in #food7 years ago

Some months back, I made a post where I shared a list of my most favorite street foods of my country! You can check the post here if you wish!
Topping the list was one food with the name of Dholl Puri, well I can describe this special street food as below :

If Mauritius had a national dish , Dholl Puri would certainly be the one! They are like small stuffed pharatas with dholl! You eat them filled with curried butter beans, tomato sauce and pickles! You can also add some chili for a better taste!

DSC_0097.JPG


How is Dholl Puri made???

Well guys, last week I got the opportunity to assist how this special street food is made in the kitchen of a big street food seller! They actually produce like +8000 of these each weekend!!!

So let's check out how we make these yummy dholl puri!!!

DSC_0076.JPG

So first of all you need the dough! It is made with flour, turmeric powder, salt and warm water!
You need to knead the dough till it is soft but not sticky.
Leave it to rest for an hour!


DSC_0089.JPG

In the meantime, you have to bring to boil yellow split peas with a pinch of turmeric powder and salt to taste!
Boil till soft but not sticky!
Drain the water.


DSC_0091.JPG

As they were producing in bulk, they had a machine to crush the boiled yellow split peas!
Let it cool down!


DSC_0077.JPG

Once the crushed peas are cold, add little cumin powder and mix well!
Check the seasoning, if needed you can add little more salt!


DSC_0096.JPG

After the 1 hour rest, mold the dough in small balls like you can see above!


DSC_0079.JPG

Taking one ball at a time, make a hole in it and stuff with the yellow split peas!


DSC_0080.JPG

Close the hole and press well so that the stuffing stays inside!


DSC_0081.JPG

Give the stuffed balls a nice round shape by rolling it on the working table!


DSC_0078.JPG

Continue the same process until all the dough are stuffed!


DSC_0082.JPG

Roll out the dough balls by adding more flour and roll as thin as you can giving them a circular shape!


DSC_0084.JPG

This is how they must look like!
You can see the yellow split peas evenly distributed!


DSC_0087.JPG

Brush a heated pan with little oil and add the dholl puri!
Cook on one side until slightly puffed up then flip on the other side!
It takes around half minute to cook one. Don't overcook them, or they will be hard!


DSC_0097.JPG

This is a ready to eat dholl puri!
Dholl puri is sold in pairs, as they are really very thin!


This is a dholl puri seller putting all the different curries on the dholl puri before serving!


So voila my dear friends, a little tour showing you the most famous Mauritian Street Food!
They are actually quite easy to make and anyone can do them at home!

Have you ever had dholl puri before?

Do you know any other food looking same like dholl puri? How do you call them?

I hope you enjoyed this post I made today and looking forward to your comments below!

IMPORTANT NOTE

The SBD made on all my posts moving forward will be used for sponsoring the Steemit Iron Chef 2017!

Anyone wishing to grow the prizes and be a sponsor of this unique contest, please do let me know! You are the most welcomed!

You wish to join and participate?
Check out @steemit-ironchef or follow this link to send your entry!

Thank you!
@progressivechef

Sort:  

haha you are my chef kok:D

Anytime you feel hungry, you know you can check out my blog! Thanks for stopping by brother! I really appreciate!

Hi Bro @progressivechef... This looks like our 'pooran poli' in India, but that is a sweet dish!! ......

You are right sister, it is quite same as the 'pooran poli' only difference it that this one is savory. But we do have the sweet version too.
Most of our food culture originates from India only and many dishes resemble food from there!

Wow great post my friend. Cool to see ! Upped and resteemed to share with my foodies in my @momskitchen blog !😋💕😋💕😋

I need to come to Mauritius! This looks so good!

Yes chef, you will have a great time discovering and tasting the different food from Mauritius! Mauritian street foods are actually listed and ranked among the best in the world!

That looks so yummy I so love these type of foods this is like the rootie we make here .

Yes it is quite similar to the 'rootie' my friend! Thanks so much for stopping by mate!

Lol, I read it wrong it at first.

I love marijuana In any Form :) :P

I was really surprised to read your comment at first my friend...It was really a very wrong read indeed!Lol!

I don't know how to cook, but I like to eat :D
Just kidding. It looks simple but delicious ^^

hahahah! I also love eating my friend....
Thanks so much for enjoying the post!

Ooh that looks great! I love curry and this looks incredible. So cool how you roll the split peas into the pancake

You should definitely try it my friend, i am sure you'll love this one! It works perfectly with any type of curries!

OOOOOO This looks soo tasty!! I love the natural yellow from the turmeric!!

Btw, funny how the noodle-strings of crushed split peas became a crumbly mess when it cooled down...I had to scroll up and down several times, wondering if the noodle-crusher pic was misplaced hehe

It was really a pleasure for the eyes watching the machine crushing that split peas my friend! After cooling down, they mix it then it gets that crumble texture!

Ahh..I see..probably crackly music for the ears watching that machine too! =)

They look very nice, although I have no idea how they will taste because I never eat one.
I don't think I know a similar street food, but they look a bit like a Chinese spring roll, but they are made quite differently.

They are really very soft and savory. These are traditional Mauritian street food, not sure you will see them a lot outside here.
But I really assure you...they are simply super yummy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66