***The Millionaire's Salad***

in #food7 years ago

Hello Everybody! Hello world of Steemians!

Maybe the title makes you think that this post is about a salad recipe, well my dear friends this is not the case!

Today I will be presenting you a special vegetable having a lovely name! To make this famous Millionaire's Salad we absolutely need this vegetable!!!

HEART OF PALM

1.jpg
Image Source

Heart of Palm or Coeur de Palmier in French , is endemic to my country infact! It is the inner core and growing bud of certain palm trees. Açaí palm and coconut can be taken are examples!

Heart of palm may be eaten on its own, and often it is eaten in a salad!

2.jpg

Brazil is the country producing the most of heart of palm in the world! This is mainly as the population consumes a lot! Equator and Costa Rica are the next biggest producers! Just the 3 of them represents 90% of the world production! That's huge!

This is a heart of palm plantation field! Most countries are gearing towards cultivated palms rather than the wild ones! This is very important for the protection of the species!

4.jpg
Image Source

On a nutrition note , hearts of palm is rich in fibers, potassium, iron, zinc, phosphorus, copper, vitamins B2, B6, and C.

Brazil is also the world biggest consumer followed by France! Amongst the biggest consumers in the world we got Argentina, Colombia, Mexico, Belgium and Israel!

In many importing countries , heart of palm are available in cans! However the fresh ones are the best!

5.jpg

In Mauritius a salad made with heart of palm is called the Millionaire's Salad as it is quite expensive! You must count minimum 10 Euro for 1 piece! But it is absolutely worth it!

This is how it looks after cultivation! To prepare it you need to further peel the different layers till you reach the soft parts!

3.jpg
Image Source

Ok let's come back to our famous salad! Basically it is very easy to make it! You just need some lemon juice, olive oil , salt and pepper! Lemon juice is very important as it help keeping it white!

There are multiples ways of preparing different dishes from it! It can be eaten raw, in salad, poached, in gratin etc...

I have worked a lot with heart of palm in my career and I will present some of the plates that I created! Hope you enjoy it!

The below is a heart of palm salad with smoked salmon ! This is one of the most famous way to eat it here in Mauritius for a lunch on the beach mainly! This is a raw version of heart of palm!

7.jpg

This one I named it Heart of palm barigoule with red mullet and baby vegetables. Here the heart of palm is cooked in a broth with white wine and lemon! One of my favorite plate!

8.jpg

And lastly a plate I created for a fine dining restaurant : Duo of heart of palm , smoked marlin and bilimbi coulis.

In this dish, I used both raw heart of palm as salad as well as in puree.

6.jpg

So have you ever tasted HEART OF PALM? How was it?

Please do comment below! Should you like the post, kindly upvote and resteem!

Thank you!

@progressivechef

Sort:  

Nice salad I will try this out next week!

Yes do try it and i'm sure you'll love it!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by progressivechefM2W from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

In the Philippines they pickle heart of palm (boiled vinegar and sugar) or cook with coconut milk. Those are the 2 common dishes we make out of it. Not too much on salads though.

That's really interesting to know dear! Thanks for sharing this!
@progressivechef

These tastes sweet like sugarcane i used to eat those when i was a child in my grandma village :-0

Wow that's nice to hear dear! Glad that you checked and liked it!

I have never heard of this!
I import a lot of exotic vegetables and fruits to Norway but this has actually skipped my radar.
Could be very interesting to look at the opportunity to take this to Norway.
If you know any good producers/exporters please let me know!

For sure this can be an amazing vegetable to put on the market in Norway! The people will surely like it!
If you are interested, let's connect on Discord and we can discuss!
https://discord.gg/P2QcDvD

My username : progressivechefM2W

I´ll get in touch!
Thanks!

I have never tried heart of palm but I've seen it in one of the grocery stores. Frankly, I never knew how to prepare it. I had no idea you could eat it raw...on purpose. LOL Meaning, yes, if I was starving I'd probably gnaw on a tree but I'm weird like that. Unfortunately, I think I would be the only one in my household who would try it! When I do my world travels and try the cuisine of the world, I'm definitely going to request it :)

btw - the presentations are gorgeous. Art on a plate.

I'm sure when you'll try it you'll enjoy so much dear! The fresh ones are the best though!
I have never really tried the canned one!
The best place to have it is in Mauritius, put it on your travel plan!!
Thanks for the nice compliments dear! You are amazing!

I've never heard about that! At first, I was thinking it's bamboo shoot :-D I'll definitely try it if I can find one here :-) It looks good. Thanks for sharing Chef! ;-)

Please do try it, for me it is one of the ingredients to make an amazing salad!
You are most welcomed dear!

I do love hearts of palm! I always have a jar handy! I sometimes eat them as is.
Your presentation look lovely!

Oh that's great to hear! Thanks for the nice compliment!

I just love the crunchy part in a heart of palm salad!

Cheers

Enjoy your day!

Same to you dear! Have a wonderful day ahead!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Wow sadly we have not any palms here :)

Not even the one in can dear?

Nop they just don want to grow here ...

Well if there is a valuable market there I can arrange for it dear! Let me know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44