The Hallucinogenic Honey From The Himalayan Bees!!!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hallucinogenichoney_FeaturedImage720x410-640x360_01.JPG

Famous for it's hallucinogenic effect, the Himalayan honey is so prized that the honey hunters in Nepal scale cliffs and confront swarms to get this unique type of honey!

9ef9ca5a98ffa73b0ecc3b19db92a8c2_01.JPG

An isolated tribe in Nepal, known as the Gurung are the ones who go on the hunt for this special honey, which are perched high upon a series of cliffs once every year!

It is really a very dangerous hunt for these men, but still they do it every year!

TW_HoneyHunters02_670_01.JPG

Rope ladders with bamboo of up to 300-foot (91 metre) are used to reach the hives! The bees are swarmed off with smoke from burning grass which is attached to a pole and at the same time the hunters try to to gather the precious liquid!
It is really worth it for the Gurung as the price for this honey is 5 times more than regular one.

HH1_01.JPG

Interesting to know that the bees producing this hallucinogenic honey are actually the largest one in the world! Yes my dear friends, the Himalayan honey bee, having the scientific name of Apis dorsata laboriosa, can measure up to 3.0 cm (1.2 in) in length.

These giant bees, pick up the pollen on the rhododendron flower which is actually Nepal's national flower! The pollen of this flower contains the chemical grayanotoxin, which infuse the honey with its drug-like qualities.

himalayan-honey-d5yuansu.com-500.png

It is reported that in its smallest doses, the honey can ensure a soothing sense of inebriation much like the experience produced from a substance such as absinthe, marijuana or LSD!!!

Each morning the Gurung tribe ingest a teaspoon of the honey, as they believe it strengthens the immune system and can lead to a longer and fruitful life.

If consumed in large quantities, it can lead to cardiac arrest or even full-scale hallucinations! That's scary!

50f5f576bf8b2dd604e349307a4f0ef0_01.JPG

Have you ever heard of this honey before?
Has anyone ever tasted it and felt the effects?

slide_1_01.JPG

If anyone is interested, check out the website for the this product also named as mad honey here, $99 the pot of 100gms!

I hope you enjoyed the post and i'm looking forward to your comments below if you have any additional info on this Hallucinogenic Honey!

If you like the post, kindly upvote and resteem if you feel others need to see it too!

IMPORTANT NOTE

The SBD made on all my posts moving forward will be used for sponsoring newly launched Steemit Iron Chef Contest.
You wish to join and participate?
Check out @steemit-ironchef blog for more info!

Thank you!
@progressivechef

chef.jpg

Image Source

Sort:  

Recall watching a vice video on this. Interesting stuff. Whats next, mustard that makes you trip?

Yeah there's quite some nice docs on this one, so interesting to watch! Hahaha! Tripping mustard, nice one!

Well if you stop giving the bees LSD flowers that wouldn't happen, or you could just skip the bees and eat the LSD yourself, but it won't be as sweet, just don't eat the bees, that would be counterproductive.

Hahahah! This is one of the best comments i've ever read, thanks so much for coming to my post my friend!
Really appreciate it!

Great post... I had never heard of this type of honey, ever before...!!! Thank you so much for sharing a good post..

I'm so glad that I made you discover a new type of honey sister!
Thanks so much for appreciating!

Thanks for this info @progressivechef, I am aware of the healing benefits on Manuka Honey from New Zealand and Jelly Bush Honey from Australia, so I am please to learn about this. thanks.

Oh wow I was not aware of the Manuka and Jelly Bush honey, thanks so much for sharing my friend, i'll check them out!

هذه رائع جدا رسم

It is not so important what kind of honey bee makes, the chemical properties of honey come from the flowers they collect. Very interesting post. I think I'm going to tell my beekeepers friends who plant rhododendron. LOL

Absolutely well said my friend!
So glad that you enjoyed the post and will share out the info!
Cheers
@progressivechef

I once saw a report on this, isn't it amazing? My grandmother used to tell us a story of a man who got lost in the jungle, ate some honey similar to this, fell into a deep sleep and was eaten while sleeping by ants!

I've watched couple of docs on same, always so interesting!
I've heard about that too, i really think it's true now! That's scary my friend, better never taste raw honey if you see in the nature!

I sure as hell won't now.

Yes friend! I am a sucker for honey though! I love it on ricotta with gigs on a baguette slice! And of course tea!

Well that doesn't sound like a nice ending :')

Wow, nice photo for the way to get honey.
I just upvoted and followed you.
Please follow me too and we can share more stories to others. =]

I watched the live action remake of the Jungle Book and they had a scene where the kid does some dangerous climbing with ropes to get honey combs just like in those pictures. I've never seen honey combs and hives like that before that movie. I just thought that was Hollywood fiction but now from your post I know it's a real thing. Crazy!! But fascinating...

Oh yes it really exist such big honey combs my friend, well i was not aware too until i watched the different reality docs on same! Really fascinating!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59264.94
ETH 2604.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38