The Weird Series # 19 - 3 Mistakes That Turned Out Very Well And Became Inventions!

in #food6 years ago

How are you doing, steemians? It's been a horrible ride in the crypto market. Almost every currency is crashing with the great Bitcoin and even the lightning development of Litecoin couldn't push it hard, thanks to the crypto market that we are now back to square one. I'm optimistic but a little bit pissed off on the Steem team for lack of communication, just like everyone else but well, let's patiently wait for the proper communication and development updates.

Anyways, how many of you missed my post in The Weird Series? To prove that I really care about you, I've decided to update the series with an interesting topic. To be honest, I'm really excited to write on this topic.


Mistakes
Image Credits: theieltscoach

We all love inventions and praise scientists for their great inventions but do you know that some inventions were actually made out of mistakes? It wasn't their real intention to discover and research on that topic but some of their mistakes turned out very well and resulted in a new unexpected invention. Amazing, right? Let's find out three of such mistakes that turned out really well.

# 1 - Chef George Crum & Potato Chips:

Potato chips are invented by Chef George Crum. Let me tell you, I love Potato chips and whenever I go to the bakery, I never forget to look for Potato chips and see the quality. My favorite chips are Lays and Kurleez that can easily be bought from superstores, though they are expensive but tastes so good. I couldn't even imagine that the chips were invented by mistake in an angry mood by chef George Crum.

One of the customers of Chef George Crum wanted to eat fried potatoes. He sent back his plate to the chef and asked to make the potatoes a little bit thin and fry it more, the chef followed the instructions but that customer again sent his plate back to the chef and asked to do make it more thin and more fried, the chef did the same again but when the customer did this again, it pissed off the chef and he decided to cut the potatoes incredibly thin and fried as such that those chips became hard. Unexpectedly, the customer praised and liked those chips a lot. That's how Potato Chips were invented.

# 2 - Ruth Wakefield & The Chocolate Chip Cookies:

I don't know how someone couldn't like Chocolate Chip Cookies as they taste so good and refreshes the mood, especially if you're taking it with the tea or coffee. Chocolate Chip and Peanut cookies are probably the cookies that I prefer the most. But the history of how it was invented is more interesting to read.

Ruth Wakefield, the inventor of Chocolate Chip cookies, was once mixing a batch of cookies. She wanted to mix baker chocolate in that batch but discovered that she is out of stock. The only option left was sweetened chocolate. She turned that sweetened chocolate into pieces by expecting that chocolate will melt by itself but surprisingly, the chocolate didn't melt and remained same (in pieces) all over the cookies. That's how Chocolate Chip Cookies were invented. Awesome, isn't it?

# 3 - Constantine Fahlberg & Saccharin:

Saccharin, a chemical that is widely used as a sweetening product. One of my relatives runs an Ice-Cream factory and he uses Saccharin in the preparation of some products by saying that Saccharin can be consumed by diabetes patient and also keep the material a little bit hard. Though I'm not sure about his diabetes patient thingy stance, I found myself more interested in studying how Saccharin was discovered.

Constantine Fahlberg, a researcher and the one who discovered Saccharin, was once in a lab and accidentally spilled a chemical in his hand. He wanted to wash the hands but forgot to wash. While he was eating the bread, he noticed that the bread turned sweet in taste. That chemical was Saccharin, and that's how it was discovered that Saccharin can actually be used to sweeten something.

Anyways, It's been time-consuming to write on this topic but I must say that I've enjoyed every second of the write-up. I hope that you enjoyed reading it too. If so, please don't forget to follow me at @princewahaj for more interesting content. FYI, I am also running two other series: SEO Tutorial Series and How-To Series. You're invited to read the posts in those series and you won't be disappointed. Thanks for reading and have a nice day!

Sort:  

That's so interesting, am following cos i want to learn more, perhaps you'll mention the brake pad, some radioactive materials were actually discovered by accident and many more.

What a nice blog post. I have not seen your series before but I like the post and the subject matter. Yes there are many accidents that became great inventions. I am not going to list any others here because you might be planning to do a blog about it so I will impatiently wait for the next blog and see if my ideas are included. All the best to you, and keep up the great writing

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

interesting post

Very nice post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63630.78
ETH 3406.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55