🍟 Restaurant Review 🍟 The Wild Fig 🍟

in #food7 years ago (edited)

cover working file.jpg

I get Friday afternoons off at work, but I spent the majority of last year working through them. I decided to NOT do this this year, and so far, the two Fridays I have worked since the New Year, I have taken off. YAY ME!

I spent this last Friday having a leisurely lunch with a friend at The Wild Fig restaurant, which is situated in the Valkenberg Estate, literally two minutes outside of Observatory, and ten minutes out of the CBD. It's incredibly beautiful, and it felt like we had travelled for an hour to get to such a scenic and calm location.

the view.jpeg

The View From the Parking Lot

The restaurant and pub are set in a beautiful old building, at least 200 years old. There is a main dining hall, and seperate old pub and the most lovely garden. I've attended to a wonderful wedding at The Fig previously, and the dinner was sublime. When my friend suggested it, I was keen as a bean.

dining room.jpeg

The gorgeous dining room

doorway.jpeg

The Garden

gardenview.jpeg

The Garden View

The weather was stunning on Friday, perfect for dining outdoors. I hadn't seen my friend for a while and we had the best time catching up. They have some great lunch time specials, R80 (about $7), and we ordered the Traditional Beer Battered Fish and Chips to share, which was one of the specials. We also ordered a portion of Chili Poppers and Spanakopitas.

chili poppers.jpeg

The Chili Poppers

fish n chips.jpeg

Traditional Beer Battered Fish n Chips

spanokofita.jpeg

Spanakopita

The food was literally perfect. I would say 8/10. The only improvement I would suggest would be to change the accompanying sauces - I would have expected homemade rather than the generic Tartare and mayonnaise.

The pub itself is very pubby for lack of a better word. Long wooden bar counters with weird old art, and lots of leather. The drinks (and food) were exceptionally cheap. I think I paid R15 for my cider, $1,25, which is unusually inexpensive, compared to the CBD where I often pay R30 ($2,40). An interesting tidbit of information I found was that the bar was actually an old barn, and is now a National Monument.

85b66e75-ae8f-44f9-ac67-d477f14499fe.jpeg

The Old Pub, also known as Annie's Arms

outside tables.jpeg

A Shaded Dining Area

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at The Wild Fig and would recommend it any time. There is a lovely old hotel (I think the word inn may be more appropriate) that is part of cluster of buildings on the premises, owned by the Marriot chain. I think I will book @morkrock and I in there for a night for one of our birthdays this year. I just love the old-timey-ness of it all.

cptmw_main01_r.jpg

The Hotel, in all of it's Cape Dutch Glory

I hope you've enjoyed my review! If any of my Steempeeps are ever in Cape Town, you've got to let me know :)

mewmewfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, this looks AMAZING, you making me so hungry, when I'm down in Cape Town again, we have to go eat there. Great Work, Great Post mewmew

Ah, thank you! And when will you come visit us?

I'd go there even if all they do is serve colored water :)
The view is awesome.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

Hehehe! Yes it is.

That food looks delicious I am sure you enjoy it!

What’s your favorite food?

It was sooo good! I loveeee sushi, definitely top three meals. I also love a good salad with lots of seeds and lentils and stuff like that.

How about you?

My favorite food would be Spanish food, followed by Italians food. Sushi is my number 3!

Gosh the wild fog 🖤 my mouth waters at the thought of them.
Good food with an amazing vibe.
Loving your post Mew! You have the writer hand 🖤

Ah that’s very nice of you! I must say it takes much fine tuning, and I think that writing almost daily for Steemit has helped me to improve immensely!

Nice camera-work. Thanks for sharing, I'm quite jealous!

This is not really steem etiquette. I wouldn’t just dump my link on your blog.

And no, I don’t like all you can eats because I always end up feeling cheated, as I’ll spend the fee and eat, about, two dishes before feeling completely full. This meal in my post was shared between two of us and I honestly felt like I was rolling out of there

Great post tnx for sharing i just upvoted check out my new post steemitalltheway

If only I had a special person to take to such lovely places!

Great food choices and awesome shots!

Take your special self! Thanks Nicky!

Looks like a beautiful spot very nicely laid out

I am so hungry now after seeing those fish and chips they look so tasty

Ah, it’s so chill and relaxed, you literally feel like you’re on vacation.

I love fish but it must be fresh, not frozen, and that hake was indeed!

I am not a big fish fan so I am picky it has to be fresh for me

The homemade mayonnaise is much better, I love doing it and I put the things to my taste beautiful place thanks for the photos

No problem! Thanks for stopping by

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60970.88
ETH 2634.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59