🧀 Easy Baked Camembert Cheese with Chilli Jam 🧀

in #food6 years ago

cover.jpg

Happy Sunday Steemians! I am chilling in the Midlands, here in KwaZulu Natal. It's so beautiful and lush here. @morkrock and I came to visit his brother @thedarksideshow in Howick, which is a small town in a very green, rainy area of South Africa, close to Durban.

2fef0255-38cb-46d7-ae99-beaf50171dc5.jpeg

Taking in the View

Last night we had a lekker braai* nice barbeque. We braaied*barbequed some beautiful lamb chops, steak and garlic bread. I made my favourite chickpea salad. To start, I made a divine baked Camembert cheese served with chilli chutney. Today I will take you through the steps to make your own baked Camembert. It's so much easier than you think, I promise.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-03 at 22.45.37.jpeg

INGREDIENTS

  • one wheel of your best Camembert
  • half a cup of flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup bread crumbs
  • sweet jam of your choice. Cranberry, blackberry or even tomato will work. I used a hot chilli chutney, which was sweet and spicy at the same time.

METHOD

Ensure your cheese is cold. You can even pop it in the freezer while you prepare the other ingredients.
Preheat your oven to 180'C (356'F)
In three seperate bowls, place the flour, breadcrumbs and beaten eggs.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-03 at 22.49.31.jpeg

Remove your cheese from the fridge, and try to work through the next few steps as quickly as possible, so that the cheese doesn't warm up.

Dust the cheese in flour.

IMG_0699.GIF

Now, dip the cheese in the egg, ensuring it is fully covered.

IMG_0707.GIF

Next, place the cheese in the breadcrumbs, and roll the wheel around, until it is evenly covered in breadcrumbs

IMG_0717.GIF

Now, repeat the process. Flour, egg, breadcrumbs. We are double coating the cheese, as it is quite a heat sensitive item. By doing it this way, we are ensuring that the cheese doesn't burst or melt through the coating.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-03 at 22.44.14.jpeg

Place the cheese in an ovenproof dish, and bake for about fifteen to twenty minutes, until golden brown. Don't turn or flip the cheese. The top should puff up slightly. If it is browning at the bottom but not at the top, you can turn on the grill for a few minutes.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-03 at 22.45.38.jpeg

Serve with your sweet jam of choice and crackers. We nommed the cheese in a matter of seconds.

IMG_0744.GIF

Let me know if you make this sublime dish. If I could do it again, I would definitely double up on the cheese. We were four people and that cheese literally evaporated!

Thank you for reading along - hope you've enjoyed reading along on my recipe!

mewmewfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Princess I like your style and specially the detail on how to prepare it.
Thanks for sharing and I am definitely going to try your recipe.

Ah, thank you so much! Let me know when you make it 💓👏🏻

Tip!

Sorry, the tip is higher then your deposit.
You can check your balance by sending 0.001 SBD to @tipu with memo: balance
(the minimal tip is 0.1 SBD)

I'd really like it to be easy as you're told! :D
I am so incompetent and I would ruin it if I did! :D
it still looks delicious and I want to try.
I will definitely try this.
Thank you very much for your lovely recipe. You're wondrous. hug

Ah, it is so easy! Try it, I’m sure you will be fine 💓

Ehehe :) I hope you do not fool me! :

Never been to KZN but I have a friend who lives there. Looks like such a great place.
Also that looks delicious especially the last gif. Perfect Sunday snack.

Oh my gosh it was just delicious. And it is SO lovely here! Loving our mini break

that looks delicious :) @princessmewmew

Oh thank you very much. I am so glad to see your name in my comments 💓💓💓

Lovely post. You explained the preparation very well. I love the last gif with the melting cheese. That's amazing 🔝🔝🔝😋. 💕

Thank you! I wish I had a straw to nom all the cheese (LOL JUST KIDDING) 😂😂😂😂

OMG that looks like liquid gold! Love the how the gifs help to show how you prepare the camembert.

Than you! I’m so glad you like the gifs. I might make a tutorial on how to do it!

Yes please. I imported my mp4 into photoshop and I was determined to figure it out but then work happened.

The process looks so easy!!, We really like the cheese and would like to try that mix of flavors :)

It is super easy actually and SO delicious

i really like that food, you give something useful for us. thanks and thanks

The last photo/video has just blown my mind! Its fabulous. Camembert with chutney sauce! Amazing. Have to try it :)

Thanks so much! You should definitely try it. It’s amazing.

great recipe I want to try that but my mouth is drooling thinking about the lamb chops, steak and garlic bread Yummy

Hehe! A steak on the Barbie is the best 💓💓👌🏻

Ohh yes I have to agree

Mouth watering badly now lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64940.81
ETH 3553.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33