The horrible start of an aspiring muffin master

in #food7 years ago

Read and weep as I share another episode of the antics of Playfulfoodie.

If you've been following my blog for a while now, you might already know that I usually try to avoid refined sugar. I had not used it in any of my baking projects for over a year and even after that, I only made one exception: My apple pie.

Lately though, I have been thinking I should just ignore that goal now and then. I've especially been craving a very regular pound cake. I have yet to make it though, but today, I was thinking about muffins. Oh yes, today I set a high goal: To be a muffin master, with sugar!

First things first: a good form for my muffins. Ideally one that can spin around in my oven. See, I have a big muffin/cupcake form, but it just sits in one place in the oven the entire time. I have to turn it around halfway through, but even then, none of them come out equally well baked. Oh no, my oven needs things to keep on spinning around.

My solution was a simple one: Use the silicon muffin forms I have and line them with paper muffin forms. That way, I could just spread them out on my round oven tray.

IMG_20180120_161439.jpg

Next, I needed a good recipe! So I asked my trusted friend Google to help me out with this. I came across the Dutch Laura's Bakery basic muffin recipe and figured I'd give that a try. Sugar and all!

So I spread my muffin forms out on the tray and lined them with the paper forms. I grabbed my ingredients and started mixing them all together. I figured I'd fill half of the cups with the regular recipe and add some cinnamon to the rest.

I filled all of my forms and put them in the oven.

That was easy enough!

Seeing as I'm still feeling like crap and have close to zero energy today, I quickly reacquainted myself with today's best friend: the couch. I lay down for a couple of minutes, after which I exclaimed "Oh no!".

But oh yes, it had indeed happened. I had completely forgotten the sugar!

Now sugarless in itself doesn't have to be bad, as long as you use a replacement! I had not done such a thing. Oh no, on this zero energy day, where I defied nature and got to baking anyway, I had simply forgotten the sweet ingredient alltogether.

My poor boyfriend had to look at my sad and pouty face while I just kept whining to him about my bad luck and stupidity.

IMG_20180120_161450.jpg

Aside from the obvious mistake, I also noticed that my nasty muffins were all blown inwards. I guess that's from the oven's airflow.

The oven beeped and with a sad face, I opened it up to take out my muffins, already knowing they would taste horrible. And indeed they did. They tasted like dough. Plain and simple dough. If it were lunch time, I would have served them with cream and jam and pretended they were not-so-sweet scones. Sadly, it wasn't lunch time, so they are now sitting on my kitchen island, not being used at all.

IMG_20180120_161502.jpg

What a waste of perfectly good ingredients. Also, what a waste of what little energy I had build up by lying on the couch most of the day.

Oh well, atleast I know my silicon muffin forms work well this way. Let's just say I'm one step closer to becoming that muffin master!




Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Twitch | YouTube |

Become my patron and earn yourself a mention or permanent place in my blog posts!

My own image used as a header for my blog posts.



Fair warning: Copy/paste comment and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

Oh wow, just leaving sugar out makes them turn out like this? :o

Yeah, they look a bit weird, don't they? I do wonder if the missing sugar is the reason for their looks aswell. I ate one with a bit of honey and atleast they are very nice and moist on the inside.

What if u put something like stevia instead of sugar, do they turn out like this too?
I usually make chocolate muffins, i use my chocolate whey protein powder to make them taste like chocolate, so good!!

I've never tried Stevia yet, but it's definitely on my todo list!
Oh yes, chocolate muffins are definitely my ultimate goal. Together with cinnamon apple muffins, yum yum :D

You will be the master of all muffins.

Oh yes, one day I will be!
(Does eating them make me a master aswell? I'd like to have a back-up plan...)

Well they look delicious and I applaud your effort to bake sugar free. I stopped baking when I gave up sugar, but if you can accidentally turn out SF muffins that look that good, perhaps I should get off the couch and give SF baking a go~~giggle. Did you end up tasting them? Can't wait to see your next kitchen creation :)

Yeah we did taste them, but they just tasted like plain dough. I've done a lot of baking with substitutes like honey, banana, apple sauce and dates. That usually turns out well, so if you're ever in a baking mood, I would suggest using those :D

When I first saw your picture I thought they were biscuits haha

It's a shame they didn't turn out though. In my honest opinion the muffin is one of the greatest baked goods out there. So versatile and delicious. ;)

Here's hoping you're next batch is a winner!

Thank you very much! I'll definitely try again :D

When I read what you write I am touched
Think of myself.
And all what you write is very beneficial for me and my family
Thank you

Amazing food muffins. I like this. Thanks for sharing

I think the muffins you made it tastes good.

thanks for your information, I am very fond of and useful to me. Thank you very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59