Minty chocolate fudge pie

in #food7 years ago

One of my best creations.

Chocolate mint fudge cake

Dear followers,

A couple of months ago, in my early days on Steemit, I shared a recipe for a minty chocolate fudge cake (which I now think should be called a pie). It's one of my best creations (atleast, in my opinion), though obviously not one of the healhier ones.

I was new and didn't have many followers, meaning it went mostly unnoticed. I'm not in the habit of repeating my posts, but I very much want to make an exception for this cake/pie/whatever you want to call it. I won't repeat myself by going into the details of how this creation came to be. I'm just going to share this recipe with you all, so hopefully, someone will find this useful/tasty/inspiring. Here goes!

Ingredients:
– 200g Oreos
– 70g and 30g Coconut oil
– 200g Dark chocolate
– 1 Can condensed milk
– 2-3 Tbsp cocao powder
– Optional: Handful of mint leaves (or some mint extract)
– 16 or 18 cm springform pan

  1. Put the oreos into the foodprocessor and mix untill there’s only crumbs left (or wrap them up in a dish towel and hammer away with a rolling pin).
  2. Melt the 70g coconut oil and add to the crumbs. Mix well.
  3. Add the crumbs to the springform pan, press down with a spoon and put the pan into the refrigerator.
  4. Optional: Chop up the mint leaves untill they’re very small.
  5. Have the cocao powder ready to use. Melt the 30g coconut oil in a saucepan. Add the chocolate (cut up into smaller parts) and condensed milk and stir on low fire, untill it is completely melted. Optionally, this is when you want to add the mint leaves or extract.
  6. Turn off the fire and add the cocao powder. Stir untill well combined.
  7. Take the springform out of the fridge and pour the chocolate mixture on top of it. Use a spoon to smoothen the surface.
  8. Let the pie cool off in the fridge for 2-3 hours.
  9. Optional: Sprinkle some cocao powder on top of the pie for a nice look.

It’s a very thick consistency, so you can go for small slices and still get your fill.



Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |

Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem and Follow!


My Deviantart image used as a header for my blog posts.


Sort:  

I will eat this post.

I cannot blame you.
I'm actually thinking of making this today :-)

You were right, this does look a fine thing!

Haha, yes it's very tasty! Very unhealthy and heavy, but very tasty! I used mint extract this time, which worked out wonderful :-)

Unhealthy and heavy works for me every time!

It's an exception for me, as I mostly try to avoid most sugary things, but hey, what girl can resist chocolate?

Luckily half is going to my boyfriend's co-workers. A little thank you for letting him go home early when my house was trying to give me a mental breakdown :D

Definitely! It's a downside to the Netherlands, people don't seem to like mint chocolate. Besides the elaborate ice saloons and the after eight chocolates, you don't get much of that taste here. They don't even have mint extract! I had to order it online from a British shop!

Scotland, on the other hand, they had minty magnum ice, minty cornetto ice, all sorts of mintyness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65230.32
ETH 3477.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37