Food - Chicory salad

in #food7 years ago

I don't think I've ever heard that English word before...

To write this recipe, I had to check what the English word for 'Witlof' was. Google tells me it's 'Chicory', but it then procedes to also show me many pictures of a flower. Just to make sure you know what I'm talking about, I'll snap a picture and share it at the end of this post.

Anyway, I learned to make this salad from my mum when we were on a little vacation a couple of months ago. It's an easy lunch salad which I like, because it lets me skip bread. It just needs a few ingredients and you can add anything you have as a leftover, if you want. In this case, I added some leftover lettuce.

IMG20170615111147.jpg

Ingredients
For one to two persons, scale up as needed

  • 1 Chicory
  • 1 Apple
  • Pre-soaked raisins (to taste)
  • Honey-mustard salad dressing

Directions
The directions are easy: Cut everything up in smaller pieces, add the pre-soaked raisins and salad dressing, mix it all and you're done!

IMG_20170616_080235.jpg

So now I'm curious, which of you non-Dutch people have heard of, or had, chicory?


Want to satisfy your creative needs? Join the Marvelous Tales Contest!



Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |

Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem and Follow!


Sort:  

Now that looks like a piece of me

niice..
i am hungry to see food..
i want..😉

Haha sorry! But hey, it's easy to make once you have the ingredients :D

yes..
i will try..😉

I've previously known chicory as a dried ground root that's blended with coffee grounds to add flavor. I've never encountered it fresh.

Ooh, I didn't know that! Here, we have it fresh in most stores.

Ah, I just googled it myself, because something didn't sound right. In the US, we typically call this cultivated, leafy form of it radicchio. I wasn't aware it was the same stuff I add to my coffee.

Ooh I see! That's a different color though :D

I've only ever seen the red variety on sale. It's apparently the same plant, just cultivated differently. I'm curious if the white and red varieties taste the same.

Yeah, I'm wondering about that too.

Yes it is chicory. This is a very bitter tasting salad leaf, generally used as a 'boat' to carry edible bits and pieces as it is quite stable for a leaf. Best used with a sweeter salad dressing. You can also cook it, braised chicory is really delicious. I like to add salted peanuts to your type of salad which is a more winter salad in Britain. Chicory is a winter salad leaf. Sorry to go on - great post. X

Ooh awesome! I love hearing how others use it :D
I never really used it for anything, before I had this salad. I might have to diversify a bit...

Do. A search on the internet for chicory recipes will surprise you. Thank you for replying. X

Actually, now that we're talking about it, I do remember my mum sometimes making them in the oven with ham and cheese! I did not like them back then though... my taste has changed :-)

Ooh that does sound good. Yes tastes do change as you mature. Your taste buds are able to accept stronger flavours and experience a wider diet. X

Yes, that sounds about right! I'm still not really a big fan of bitter foods, but I can enjoy the taste a bit better now. Especially when mixed with other ingredients.

That is the point really. The best meals are balanced - hot, cold, bitter, sweet, soft, crunchy. If you can balance all of those in a dish you will be a Michelin starred chef. X

As long as my boyfriend likes my food (and I do too), I'm happy :D

That seems as an interesting combination! :)

It's a really fresh salad with some sweetness due to the raisins :-)

Ps. Chicory is not radicchio. That is a purple leaf salad about the size of an orange. Again though bitter. X

Ooh good to know!

@get-baking and :) @playfulfoodie -I often here people confuse the two. You are right - however radicchio is a part of the chicory family. I have lived in many places and heard the names used interchangeably.

  • In the US they call it chicory - also the curly leaved belgian endive is called chicory.
  • However, a type of Chicory is also the root of the chicory plant which is used as a coffee substitute.

So there are many varieties and names:
leaf chicory
white endive
radicchio
Belgian endive
French endive
red endive
or witloof.

Gosh there are so many names and types and some are the same thing but some are different. I have eaten them all and they are all bitter and delicious. Gosh the name are used loosley names are used so loosely but they are all related - it does get confusing. What is a name!!Let's not start to discuss the chicory flower. haha

Thanks for this. Yes, I know radicchio is part of the chicory family but is a salad leaf in its own right, that is what I meant. Chicory is used in many ways radicchio is not. Have you tried it braised? Delicious. Your knowledge is considerable. X

@get-baking You are welcome.Indeed raaddichio is different. I have had it braised also used as a boat ) Yes I have had it braised with parsley and wine as well. Simple but nice. I have a lot of interest nature, food, travel, spirituality, cryptocurrency - you name it. :) Make it harder to decide what my blog will be about. :)

Absolutely the same. I have been concentrating on baking the last few posts. I think they are reasonable posts: lots of information, grammatically correct, interesting read; yet my upvotes are going backwards? I do not get it? Very frustrating as my followers are increasing, and good followers too. I never request followback and now monitor closely requests from those who have followed! Hey ho, we must not get despondent and work through it, I hope! Good luck with yours. I enjoy your posts. X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80