Avocado Pesto with Zucchini Noodles - AvocadoContest

in #food7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry to #avocadocontest held by @deliciousplants: Creamy Avocado Pesto with Zucchini Noodles

Even though I'm on a low-fat, plant-based diet and the amount of oils and fats I eat per day is very limited, I like avocados and I eat them every now and then, but no more then 3-4 slices per day. However, I had a huge avocado in the kitchen that needed to be used up soon, and I've just seen this contest on Steemit, as well, so I decided to create someting great out of it.

20180217_123547.jpg

Avocado Pesto recipe (serves 2):

  • 1 avocado
  • 1/3 cup extra-virgine olive oil
  • 3 cups firmly packed fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 2 cloves garlic
    1 tsp white miso paste
    1/4 tsp Himalayan salt

Put all the ingredients except the avocados in a high speed blender and blend until it gets a nice, creamy consistency. Once it's done, add the avocado, and blend it again until smooth.
Serve it over fresh zucchini noodles, add some cherry tomatoes and roasted mushrooms on the top.

The original pesto is made of pine nuts, but you can have a very similar taste and consistency with sunflower seeds, too. As I'm currently travelling, I would have had a hard time searching for pine nuts in the grocery stores I guess, but sunflower seeds are easy to find everywhere, so I just kept it simple. Plus they are much cheaper than pine nuts, so that's another thing to concider. :)

This recipe is not low-fat at all, so I ate only a little bit of it and gave the rest to my travel buddy, with whom I'm travelling currently. To be honest, it was hard to stop myself from eating all of it...

As my final thoughts, I would like to say thanks to @deliciousplants for their great contests, which really inspire all of us to prepare nice, healhty, plant-based recipes. You guys rock, keep up the great job you do!

Sort:  

Zoodles I have become one of my favorite things to make. Always use them to meal prep.

Oh yes, I love them too. So simple and delicious, you can add any kind of sauce or flavour to them.

I put them in mason jars and take them to work. I'm still working on perfecting my vegan Alfredo :)

That's so cool, good idea!! I can't wait to read your post about the best vegan Alfredo ever, once you found the perfect recipe 🤗😊 Keep it up!!

I love this one! Pesto + avocado, can it get better? I don't think so

Thank you very much, I'm glad you like it :)

Are you kidding me? Avocado pesto... oh my yum... that looks so good =)

Haha thank you very much :D I'm glad you like it!!! :)))

Loading...

Yummy looking.....Look yummy even though I am full from eating a late dinner....

Hello plantbasedmiri.
I like your recipes.
Try this avocado pesto next time.

Dear @kamahler, thank you so much for your kind words, I'm glad you like my recipes :) I hope you'll try this one and will like it

This looks awesome! Thanks so much for sharing!

You are very welcome, I'm glad you like it :)

Congratulations, your post has been promoted on behalf of the @echowhale team and has been reesteemed .

Additionally , an upvote was given to you ! Good luck

Wow, thank you yo much!!! I really appreiate it :) You made my day!

Friend, I hope you are well, this recipe really looks divine, it's a pity you could not eat it all!

Ohh don't tell me... But I'M so proud of myself that I was strong enough not to finish the whole thing :)

I am the last person you will find eating a vegetarian only diet but this looks absolutely yummy. I am going to bookmark this and curate it into my STEEMit food bookmarks. This one will be part of my summer lunch menu when things warm up a bit and cooler foods become a very welcome addition to the day.

Really looking forward to getting this one on my plate in May or June.

Just a note.. I found this link on @Jerrybanfield's #request-resteem discord channel.

Dear @libertyranger, I'm so glad to hear that :D Actually, all my family is carnivor, but they always love my plant-based recipes :)) You can have meat-less meals every now and then ;) I hope you'll like it in summer!
Take care

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60073.81
ETH 2420.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45